Hello, and…

Welcome to my blog. This is my first post, and I hope it won’t be my last. I have all these ideas in my head, and it’d be such a waste not to write them down. I also have a lot I’ve already written that I want to archive. Dear reader, I hope you find what I write both interesting and funny, with slight emphasis on the funny.

Laughter Applause

It’s my birthday today. I’m now 24 years old. That’s one less than a quarter of a century. The aging process is getting to me. Pulling all-nighters is getting more difficult. Partying hard is hardly doable. My hair isn’t as beautiful or dense as it used to be, my neck is stiff and my back is crooked. It sucks, but at least my health is better than 3 years ago. I’ve improved a lot in that regard. I no longer drink alcohol or eat sweets, and I’m trying to quit nicotine. I may make a personal blog where I talk more about this.

Playing video games is tiring to me now. It’s not that I get bored, it’s a more physical thing. Fast games exhaust me, slow games make me sleepy. I play Diablo 3 and Civilization 5 every now and then, but that’s about it. Multiplayer games are particularly difficult. Dota makes my hands shake a lot, as does Battlefield 3. I think it’s the pressure of the respawn timer that causes it. I’m still the king of Crash Team Racing, though. I should play that more often. Maybe I’ll even write about how much I love that game.

The best game... in the world

The best game… in the world

I like to think that I’m a good person. I try not to make fun of people, and instead of assuming that everything that is true must be good, I think of other people’s feelings before I open my mouth. I try to empathise with the people I talk to. Failing that, I try to at least sympathise. Doing this over the internet is particularly difficult, but I try. I don’t care as much as I should, though. The world is a terrible place in many ways, but I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I can’t make it all better. This is a source of both comfort and sadness.

I love watching TV programmes and movies. There have been some really good TV series in the past few years, like Breaking Bad and Hannibal. From time to time I dip into older stuff like Band of Brothers or Stargate, those are great too. I haven’t seen many Hollywood movies lately, which is something I should rectify. The elephant in the room here is anime, of course. Most of the stuff I watch nowadays is anime. I love the medium for what it can, but usually fails to, do. The theoretical possibility of perfect visual blending of almost anything humanly imaginable, something that is not possible with live-action, is so exciting to me.

Which brings me to writing. Writing is exciting to me, or at least the idea is. Writing essays was one of my favourite assignments in high school, because it gave me the opportunity to be creative. Even when the topic and references are chosen for you, the essay format gives you the opportunity to infuse it with your own style. Needless to say, though, my favourite assignments were the ones where I got to choose the topic myself. I loved that moment of inspiration when I thought of something and realised “this is the idea”. I still do love that moment, which is why I write about anime. That moment brings with it a great feeling, one that makes me want to tell people about it. And I hope my future posts manage to convey that feeling.

That said, I am getting older. Inspiration doesn’t come to me as often anymore, and even when it does I find it hard to actually write anything down without getting tired. I have many unfinished essays that I want to go back to, but I don’t know if I have the energy. There’s the post about Puella Magi Madoka Magica: Rebellion where I’ve spent 600 words on the first 5 minutes of the movie, and the post where I initially criticise fantasy elements in non-fantasy anime but then kind of understand why they’re there but refuse to acknowledge it directly. That’s just a taste of the kind of stuff you can look forward to in the future.

But enough talk. Talking about what I want to do doesn’t get me anywhere. All that is left is to do something about it. “Ours but to cast the die” is what they say, right? So, right here and right now, I’m proud and sad to announce that I will quit blogging immediately. The runner’s high was good while it lasted. Thanks for all the compliment-fish. Live long and prosp-share. And to all a good night(please like and retweet)!

2 thoughts on “Hello, and…

Leave a Reply

