Spring 2015 First Impressions Bonus Round!

No pictures for every show this time. No specific structure either. Just words about the rest of the new shows that I decided to watch this season. There were a few disappointments, but also genuinely enjoyable ones. And a surprising amount of variety, considering these were the shows I looked at and considered too boring to write about.

 

Rinne 02

Unrelated to this post, but I thought it was funny.


Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Bonus Round

Ame-iro Cocoa

This short has an OP. That’s all I could figure out during the 2 episodes that I have seen of it. And those episodes, including the OP, were less than 2 minutes long. And both ended mid-scene. And the premise of the entire show was told through a very short flashback in the first episode. I have no idea who the characters are or what they are like, because there simply isn’t enough time for that. They talk about what is going on at the moment or, occasionally, about the secondary character who owns the establishment – Is it a café? Who knows? – that some, not all, of the characters work in, for some unknown reason.

Actually, I should’ve used past tense there, because there’s no way I’m watching more of this. It’s not funny, it’s not cute, the dialogue isn’t interesting. It has less story and plot than your average low-effort hentai OVA, and it looks like one, too. Three episodes I will not give it.

 

Urawa no Usagi-chan

Well, it’s better than Ame-iro Cocoa in every way, but that doesn’t mean much. I watched the first episode quite recently, but I can’t remember what happened in it. I think the main character is called Usagi, but I’m not entirely sure. All I know is that she talked or had an inner monologue for the entire duration of the episode. I don’t remember what she said, nor do I remember what she looked like or what her circumstances were. Maybe she was going to school. Yeah, that would probably make sense. I really can’t think of anything else to say about this show.

Maybe it’s unfair to judge it by just the first episode, but I really didn’t see anything that I liked or cared about. There’s no hook, nor is it funny. But how could it be, when literally nothing happened? I see no reason to watch any more of this.

 

Etotama

“Painfully anime” is how I’d describe this. It has a male main character, a bunch of magical  girls, comedy and game-like mechanics. Part of the comedy comes from the fact that the boy is calm and cool unless excessively provoked, which is what one of the magical girls – a loli-looking cat girl – does constantly. The two of them perform a perpetual manzai act, going through every “anime joke” in the book. And then there’s the battles between the magical girls, which is where the game-like mechanics come into play. I didn’t really pay much attention to that, though.

So why haven’t I dropped the show yet, if I felt the need to take that tone with it? The answer is that while the comedy may not be the most novel thing ever, it’s delivered in short bursts instead of being dragged out. And it’s really, really self-aware. And there’s a lot of wordplay, which evoked fond memories of Yuyushiki. I do expect it to get stale a few episodes in, but I had a reasonable amount of fun with it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s absolutely trash, but it’s extreme trash, and that’s sort of entertaining.

 

Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo – Yamada and the Seven Witches

A delinquent boy and the most beautiful girl in school meet on a staircase. What happens? They fall down the stairs and their bodies are swapped. Penis jokes and other hijinks ensue. Yep, this is an ecchi school comedy. There’s a lot of physical comedy and awkward moments, but I expected that. It’s par for the course. This is not the same kind of trash as Etotama, but it’s trash nonetheless. Or is it?

Yamada-kun 01

What I didn’t expect was how much I’d like it. It reminds me of the shows I saw when I first started watching anime. Mayo Chiki, Haganai, etc. I usually keep my distance from stuff like this, i.e. ecchi school comedies, but sometimes even I like to indulge(see Etotama above). It also helps that the art style is pretty cool. It doesn’t look as bad as I expected it to. And the comedy is kind of funny. If this is trash, then it’s classy trash. Is that even a thing? Maybe I’m completely wrong. In any case, I want more. This is fun.

 

Ninja Slayer From Animation

I liked it.

Ninja Slayer 01

One thought on “Spring 2015 First Impressions Bonus Round!

  1. Pingback: Check-in Station: Ninja Slayer ep1 (I wasn’t expecting what I should have expected) | the Check-in Station

Leave a Reply

