Spring 2015 Mid-Season Mega Post

Kinmosa S2 E6 01

 

Episode 3 has come and gone. I’ve dropped many shows, the most recent of which is Ore Monogatari. You know how I feel about it, so I won’t reiterate my thoughts. It has its moments, but ultimately it just annoyed me more than it entertained me. At the opposite end of the spectrum lies Hibike! Euphonium, which I’ve also written about. At this point I think it’s safe to say that it will be my anime of the season. Episode 5 had strange pacing and some moments that felt weirdly out of place, but there were no traces of that in episode 6, so all is well.

Among the other shows I’ve mentioned recently, a few stand out. Arslan Senki has steadily rolled downhill in terms of apparent production values(I won’t speculate as to why this is), but I really like how the story and characters are developing. Narsus and Elam are particularly great. Owari no Seraph has stayed consistently entertaining with the exception of the most recent episode 6. It’s not a greatly inspired show by any means, but it’s still fun to watch.

Kyoukai no Rinne has become a show that I watch with one eye while doing other stuff. It’s good enough that I like doing it this way, but neither the characters nor the comedy gripped me after the first few episodes. The same is also true for Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo. The gimmicks are fun, but the student council business and the drama in episodes 4 and 5 didn’t do much for me. Oh, and I guess I watch Re-Kan the same way as well, but I keep forgetting that I’m still watching it, so take that as you will. Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu is conflicting for me. On one hand, I liked the funny faces and jokes in the early episodes, but on the other, Haruhi’s return has made Kyon act more like his original self. As much as I wanted this show to not be about Haruhi, I do love the original Kyon.

On the somewhat more negative side, Shokugeki no Soma is still mostly the same as it was in the beginning, but I’m concerned by the fact that the show is desperately clinging on to the ecchi elements. The manga sheds most of that stuff pretty early on, so it’s a bit frustrating when the show is still behind on that. Punchline almost vindicated itself with episode 5. I still don’t care about its characters, but at least the unfolding of events is now greatly interesting to me. And finally, Kekkai Sensen is a show I love to love, but hate to hate. When it’s great I feel like physically applauding, that’s how great it is. But when it’s not so great, like when the villains are all inevitably the same, it’s not so great. I don’t even know why episode 6 had to have villains. It ruined the story of that episode for me. It felt like they were shoved in there because the author doesn’t know how to write conflict resolutions without beating up the characters.

In addition to these shows that I’ve already talked about this season, there are a few shows that I haven’t mentioned yet. And that’s because they’re sequels. I still don’t have much to say about them, but I should at least say something.

 

Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken 2 Sure-me

A mouthful of a title for a bite-sized show. It’s still as generally funny and endearing as the first season, but it lacks the same emotional impact. It’s cute, but it’s now “just cute”. And that’s kind of disappointing, especially after that one particular episode in season 1. And the cliffhanger that season 1 ended on? Swept under the rug and kept there, at least so far. Honestly, I expected more from this show.

Otaku Husband S2 E2 01

It has references.

 

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works 2nd Season

I find it difficult both to admit and to believe that I was hyped for this show when it was first announced. I don’t hide the fact that I hate the visual novel, but I guess I was just hoping that the anime would remedy some of the issues I had. Turns out it didn’t. The only thing I’m getting out of this show, and the only thing I got out of the first season, is the animation. The fights are greatly satisfying, but that’s about it. And the animation didn’t even help my favourite episode with Ilya and Berserker, because the stuff I like there is in the character writing, not the fight.

FSN UBW S2 E4 01

A beautiful man in an ugly world.

But man, this show is just as aggravating as the VN. Shirou is still a stupid one-dimensional self-sacrificial “good guy”, Gilgamesh is the one-dimensional opposite of him, and Rin and Archer are tainted by the existence of Shirou. I am, however, glad that the arc with Caster is over, because she was possibly even more annoying than Shirou, Rin and Archer. Characters aside, it feels like the show has at least cut parts of the technobabble. Smart choice, because the mechanics are mostly irrelevant anyway(though Kirei likes to hide their shallowness and arbitrariness behind paradoxical statements and pseudo-philosophy). Unfortunately, without technobabble, the fact that the show doesn’t offer much in terms of real substance becomes all the more apparent.

This show is a waste of good time. I still want to see all of it animated, but that’s more of a shame than something to look forward to, now.

 

Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic

Yay, Kinmosa is back, and it’s great. I was initially sceptical about the introduction of new characters, but Kuzehashi-sensei and Honoka are both excellent. Other than that, the show is almost identical to the first season. The tone and the jokes are the same, which I think is a good thing. I liked season 1 as it was. So really, there’s not much more I can say. Better than F/SN.

Kinmosa S2 E6 02

The Blonde Alliance.

 

Sidonia no Kishi: Daikyuu Waksei Seneki

I liked how the first season ended. One story arc was over, and new ones began, with some teasing as to what was going to happen in season 2. I was not expecting the story to turn out this way, though. I figured the show would start to focus more on the grand scheme of things, like survival, resources and trying to find out if there are other humans left in the universe. I did not see Ochiai and the hybrid coming at all. And it all happened so fast in the first few episodes that, to be honest, I still don’t really get what exactly happened. I’m not sure if I like season 2 or not, but hey, at least it has more cool battles.

Sidonia S2 E4 01

It’s really hard to take good screenshots of this show.

 

Oregairu Zoku

Because one unnecessary long title is enough. I guess it’s a good thing that the worst thing about this show is the length of its title. Actually, Totsuka and Zaimokuza are pretty annoying as well, but fortunately they don’t show up that often in the second season. In fact, season 2 improves on most of the flaws of the first season. Most of the juvenile jokes are gone, the problems are less monster-of-the-week and more complex, and more characters get development, especially Yui. I’m really liking it, despite the fact that I’m not totally in love with the new art style, animation and direction.

Oregairu S2 E6 01

Exquisite hand animation.

 

 

Last, but not least:

Ninja Slayer From Animation

Yep, I still like it.

Ninja Slayer E4 01

Leave a Reply

