Summer 2015 First Impressions: Part 3

Rokka no Yuusha

Rokka no Yuusha pic 01

Damn, that head tilt is a declaration of war on Shaft.

This did turn out to be an interesting first episode. The mystery mentioned in the synopsis wasn’t touched upon yet, but instead I got a fairly unique setting and some cool characters. I’m not sure I’ve actually seen any other anime go for a Mesoamerican setting, and the main character had an interesting personality. Unfortunately I tend to get bored of fantasy adventures very quickly, so this show will have to do more if it wants to retain my interest, but it wasn’t off to a bad start.

My favourite thing about the episode, though, was the visual work. For one, it’s a colourful show, and I’m sure that’s in part due to the setting being what it is. Secondly, I really like the character designs. The main character’s face is not that interesting or new as far as young male fighting protagonists go, but I love his outfit and weapons. Most importantly, though, this episode had really good cinematography. The animation itself wasn’t the most impressive thing ever, but the fight scene looked really good because the shots were varied and interestingly composed. And, best of all, that carried over to the talky and exposition-heavy scenes as well. Neither the camera nor the characters wanted to stay still, and that prevented any boredom on my part.

Verdict: Fine, but give me more of that cinematography!

 


Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai

Shimoseka pic 01

Ok, that was actually pretty funny.

I didn’t plan on watching this, which is why I didn’t include it in my preview post. I only decided to pick it up because a few people on Twitter said that it was really funny. And what did I get? Yeah, this is the show I expected I would get back when I decided I wasn’t going to watch it. It’s crass in more ways than one, the characters feel, and probably are, as one-dimensional as it gets, and I doubt it’ll deliver a meaningful story. To top it off, it looks bog-standard in terms of visuals. I would never have bothered with this out of my own initiative.

The main theme of the show is obviously the sex jokes. And they shouldn’t really be funny. I’ve heard most of them before in Seitokai Yakuindomo, and I got pretty bored of that after 2 seasons. So why did this show make me laugh so much? It wasn’t out of surprise, because I fully knew what to expect. So maybe it was because dirty jokes are still taboo. Not just in the context of the story, but in anime in general. Even ecchi shows that show a lot of skin rarely venture into the realm of sex jokes(SYD really is an outlier in that respect). Maybe it’s not that the jokes are “ha ha”-funny, maybe it’s because they’re “guehehe, you can’t say that on TV”-funny. Maybe this taboo is the same reason I enjoy ecchi fan art and doujins instead of original ecchi manga. Seeing characters “do stuff they’re not supposed to do” is apparently something I really like. Huh.

Verdict: I actually laughed. This is a good thing. But I don’t expect it to last.

 


Dragon Ball Super

Dragon Ball pic 01

Piccolo is back, all is right with the world.

Did I actually expect anything else? I’m not sure, nor am I sure how to feel about this episode. It was essentially exactly as I remember DBZ. I used to really like DBZ, but that was a long time ago, so I’m having doubts. On one hand, it did make me feel nostalgic in a good way and it was nice to see all the old characters again. On the other hand, I’m not sure I’m prepared to watch 100 episodes of Dragon Ball again. It was fun to watch it on TV in the afternoon after coming home from school, but can I really follow it weekly together with all the other anime I’m watching? Probably not. However, Episode 2 will apparently be about Vegeta going on vacation, so I’ll definitely be watching at least that.

Speaking of nostalgia and old shows, I feel like the Dragon Ball art style hasn’t really aged well. I mean, kudos to the animators for keeping the same style, but it makes certain scenes look very cheap. Or maybe that’s just the Toei effect, I’m not completely sure. Point is, it looks dated. Maybe the actual battles will look better, but I’m not hopeful. I also had issues with the voices. Goku and Goten in particular sound almost hilariously bad. They sound like old ladies. So that was pretty jarring.

Verdict: Not really excited, but it gets at least one more episode.

 


Wakako-zake

This one is really, really short. 3 minutes per episode. But that’s probably a good thing, because there’s really not much to this show. The main character enters a restaurant, eats, and leaves. There is some internal monologuing on her part, and other characters talk, but it’s not very in-depth stuff. They just talk about what kind of food they like. Coincidentally, there’s really not much more to say about this show. I like it, but it’s so short that it doesn’t really matter either way.

Verdict: Eh, it’s only 3 minutes every week, might as well.

 


Wooser no Sono Higurashi: Mugen-hen

This is the same old Wooser, but with slightly longer episodes(8 minutes instead of 3). I don’t really know what to say about it. I didn’t particularly care for the first two seasons of this(though the references were funny), but it’s a short, so it’s not too bothersome. Also, the ED animation is really cute. It’s almost worth watching every week just for that.

Verdict: Same as above.

Leave a Reply

