Summer 2015 First Impressions: Part 5

Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou

Monmusu pic 01

I have to admit that she’s pretty cute… for a snake girl.

Interesting! I didn’t actually think I’d enjoy this at all, or at least not much, but it ended up being quite entertaining. The first few minutes didn’t impress me, probably mostly because I didn’t find the comedy funny, but it got better after that. First I warmed up to the fact that this is going to be one of those ecchi series that tease everything but do absolutely nothing, and then I actually got excited about the prospect of monster girl ecchi, because of how the monster girls spice up the generally stale ecchi tropes. For instance, take that bit about Miia’s panties. The mystery was genuinely intriguing to me because I had (obviously) never seen a lamia’s panties before. I guess you learn something new every day.

There is also an aspect to the show that is interesting in a serious way: The discrimination that the monster girls(and, presumably, monster boys) face and the politics surrounding that. There’s actual backstory here, it’s not just ecchi slice of life. Whether that serious aspect manages to say anything meaningful is still up in the air, but I like that it’s at least trying.

Verdict: Not bad at all. Enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

 


Overlord

Overlord pic 01

Something about that face makes me laugh.

There is something I must admit. I was biased against this show from the outset. Log Horizon bored me and I’ve heard bad(and creepy) things about SAO, so I started Overlord with the expectation that I’d hate it. And I did end up hating it, but I’m not sure if that’s purely because of my bias or because it actually was terrible. One scene in particular stood out among the things that I disliked: The scene where the main character rewrites a female NPC to love him and then proceeds to fondle her breasts, which she doesn’t object to because she has no free will. That disgusted me, but did it disgust me because I wanted to be disgusted so I could call this show bad? That is a possibility, but on the other hand, using the “Oh, it’s anime, this kind of stuff happens all the time” excuse is not particularly productive either.

Fortunately, I can disregard that aspect entirely when deciding to dislike the show, because it really wasn’t perfect in any other way either. I did like the fact that the main character has a non-human avatar, and some of the nostalgic stuff regarding playing together as a guild was nice, but ultimately, just like with Log Horizon, I found it boring because I’m not that interested in MMOs or RPGs anymore. The choppy frame rate, the CG skeletons and the, frankly, bad-looking art didn’t help. Madhouse didn’t bring their A game this time.

Verdict: I guess I just don’t find these kinds of shows interesting. Probably dropped.

 


Bikini Warriors

Bikini Warriors pic 01

No kidding?

Somehow this show ended up being even more boring than Overlord, and Overlord’s episodes are over 4 times longer. It literally is just about warriors in bikinis, and that’s not very gripping. To make it worse, it also lacks a lot of animation, and the few animated shots it has are blatantly reused. It’s like Teekyuu, but not funny at all. The fact that the jokes are mostly RPG-related doesn’t help either.

Verdict: The first short I’m considering dropping. It got boring in less than 5 minutes.

 


Sore ga Seiyuu!

Sore ga Seiyuu pic 01

Not one of the best faces I’ve seen.

It is with heavy heart that I have to admit that this is probably the closest thing we’ll get to a spritiual successor to Shirobako. And please note that this is not Shirobako. Shirobako wasn’t always a visual marvel, but Sore ga Seiyuu looks outright bad in comparison. The character designs aren’t that impressive either. A few of the side characters look distinct, but the main characters all look kind of samey. Futaba stands out because her hair and glasses make her look like Yuki Nagato, but other than that there is nothing remarkable about her. The writing isn’t much better. The jokes drag on and aren’t funny. Futaba is panicky, which gets annoying very quickly. Worst of all, though, there is. So. Much. Exposition. It’s like that worst episode of Shirobako but amplified by a factor of 10.

And yet, the show still interests me, because the subject matter is what it is. In spite of its shortcomings, it is still like Shizuka from Shirobako got her own spinoff show. And it’s a full-length series, not a short, which was a positive surprise. And it actually has further similarities to Shirobako: Futaba has a doll she talks to about her problems, and the doll also serves as the narrator who lays down all the exposition. If Sore ga Seiyuu wasn’t based on a doujin that started in 2011, I would probably assume it was Shirobako fan fiction. But yeah, it’s not that bad. I still want my Shirobako sequel, but this isn’t entirely disappointing.

Verdict: Annoying, but interesting enough to continue.

2 thoughts on “Summer 2015 First Impressions: Part 5

Leave a Reply

