Going Down The List: Aiura

So, here’s an idea for a new series: I’m going to write about every anime series I’ve finished at least one season of(or movie or OVA series). It’s not going to be a series of full reviews, that would take way too long, but I realised that I had something I wanted to say about almost all the shows I’d seen.

The format is going to be highly fluid. I’ll probably focus on different things for every show, because that’s going to be the whole point. I don’t want to compare or rank shows, I just want to show what it is I remember about each show. Also, I’m going to be going down my list in alphabetical order.

Anyway, that’s enough introduction for now, so, without further ado, here’s the first post(release schedule pending):

 


Aiura

In the beginning, i.e. Winter 2013, Liden Films made Senyuu. The next season, they made Aiura. As I was a new anime-watcher at the time, I expected much from Aiura, not knowing it was unlikely to be spectacular in any way. I also didn’t realise that it was going to be a short, so I was really disappointed and confused when I realised the episodes were only around 3 minutes long.

GDTL Aiura 1

And, as expected, it didn’t turn out to have a lot of staying power after it finished airing. Yuyushiki dominated it in that respect and, looking back, I would choose Yuyushiki for a sequel over Aiura. In fact, I don’t expect to see any new Aiura-related stuff ever again. But I will remember it, and I will remember it fondly! Aiura looked great. It’s not that the designs themselves were unique or groundbreaking, it was based on a slice of life yonkoma after all, but the art was beautiful. What Aiura’s backgrounds lacked in detail, it made up for with the fact that the backgrounds were watercolours. And what it lacked in character designs it made up for in great poses and animation.

GDTL Aiura 2

Also, like Kill Me Baby with its OP/ED and Yuyushiki with its conspiracy theories surrounding the existence of two of the main characters, Aiura had a “thing”. For some inexplicable reason, the OP contained several still frames of fairly well-detailed sketches of Steve Jobs. As if that wasn’t bizarre enough, these drawings also had crabs(as in the crustacean) in them. Why? We may never know*, but I sure as hell will always remember that.

GDTL Aiura 3

Fun fact: This is the earliest of my anime screenshots that I still have saved.

*Seriously, if you know, tell me. I’ve been wondering about this for over two years now!

Leave a Reply

