Going Down The List: Blue Drop Tenshi-tachi no Gikyoku

(MAL LINK)

Blue Drop – the anime, not the manga, which is an important distinction I was taught early on – was a series of many firsts for me. It was the first science fiction anime I watched, and the first shoujo ai anime I watched. Sure, the harems I saw before it had some yuri teasing, but that’s what harems are like. Haganai had Sena lusting after Kobato, but that was hardly romantic, and I disliked it even back then. Blue Drop was a different kind of show. It made me take an anime relationship seriously for the first time. And it also had something else that I often look for in anime nowadays: Strong female characters.

Ok, yeah, in retrospect, the show didn’t end up doing much with the strong female characters except pit them against each other, but I liked that they at least tried. From what I’ve heard, the manga is much worse at that, but I digress. In essence, you could say that the show was all about having interesting ideas and doing almost nothing with them. The show takes place in a seaside town, but apart from a few beautiful shots, this is not taken advantage of compared to, for instance, Tamayura and Nagi no Asukara. The sci-fi elements were also kind of cool in my opinion, but I was disappointed when the show just kind of ended in the middle of that sci-fi story. As did the relationship between the main characters. Just as their story had really started, the show ended.

That said, the fact that I was sad that the show ended like that means that I did like the show. I liked the theatrical aspect of it, and I loved the shots with the seagulls and the sea. In some weird way, I can actually draw parallels between Blue Drop and Star Driver, and I don’t mean because they’re both sci-fi stories taking place by the sea. I feel like they use similar dramatic methods to tell their stories… or something like that. As far as I know there’s no notable overlap staff-wise between the two shows, but now that I think about it, they do kind of remind me of each other. In a good way.

Leave a Reply

