Going Down The List: Byousoku 5 Centimeter

(MAL LINK)

I’m not a big fan of the writing in Makoto Shinkai’s movies anymore, mostly because I feel 5cm and Garden of Words were too similar in terms of story. The last one of his films that I watched was Children Who Chase Lost Voices, which was a disappointing experience, because it felt like Shinkai was trying to imitate Hayao Miyazaki. I do still like some of Shinkai’s short films, though, like She and Her Cat, and Dareka no Manazashi. Maybe the shortness is what prevents them from becoming too grand for their own good, but I digress. In any case, however, writing this post has kindled in me a renewed desire to watch 5cm Per Second.

Or, rather, not the act of writing the post itself, but looking up screenshots to use. I don’t know how I’d forgotten it, but this movie really does look absolutely gorgeous. While Garden of Words is even more impressive in terms of technical skill, I like the landscapes and locations better in 5cm. Now that I think about it, the first lock screen image on my phone was a screenshot from 5cm. So, regardless of what I actually think of the story itself, I have to admit that the movie’s visuals served their purpose extremely well. The character art was not as amazing as everything else, but that’s understandable because the characters have to move more than the stuff in the background.

Another notable thing about 5cm and Garden of Words is that they’re both relatively short movies, with 5cm being 60 minutes and Garden of Words being 45 minutes long. For some reason, though, 5cm felt a bit too long when I first watched it. Maybe that’s just because it was the first anime movie I watched, but I’ll have to see when I rewatch it. Still, though, I don’t consider it a waste of time at all. At the very least, it’s one of the most beautiful-looking movies I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

