Going Down The List: Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!

(MAL LINK)

Chuunibyou coincidentally also happens to be one of the first shows I watched. I think I marathoned it on a Tuesday evening. It was also the first show by Kyoto Animation that I watched, but interestingly enough, I don’t remember being very impressed by the art or the animation at the time. Maybe that’s just because I marathoned it, though. In any case, I was impressed by the character relationships, because Chuunibyou was basically the first non-harem I watched.

Not that there was no teasing in that respect: Yuuta lusting after Shinka in the beginning kind of made me think the show was going to be a harem, but they never went anywhere with that, and I was surprised to learn that there were anime with somewhat deep and emotional stories outside of the harem genre. I was never a big fan of the humour in the show, the cringe comedy and Dekomori in particular annoyed me, but as a whole I liked the show, and the ending was pretty satisfying.

…And then they decided to make a second season. And I decided to watch it. And I was not a fan of what I saw. The second season basically proceeded to pretend that nothing happened in the first season and that there was no hope that Rikka would develop as a character. What’s worse, the second season made Yuuta give up his entire premise from the first season. It made me feel like all the cringe comedy was for nothing. But the worst thing was that the second season actually had an interesting character: Shichimiya, the new girl. Shichimiya reminded me of how I felt about the characters while watching the first season. Compared to her, the returning characters basically either kept stomping the same old ground or reverted to earlier states of character development. It was, to say the least, disappointing, and it kind of soured the whole series for me. I haven’t even watched the recap movie.

Leave a Reply

