Going Down The List: Cowboy Bebop

(MAL LINK)

It’s been over 2 years since I watched Cowboy Bebop for the first time. That’s too long ago, and I need to rewatch it. Why? Because with every show I’ve watched since then, I’ve realised that Cowboy Bebop should’ve impressed me more than it did. Because there really aren’t many shows like it. Space Dandy comes close, but it’s not the same. Why? I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it kind of feels like Space Dandy is some kind of goofy spin-off of Cowboy Bebop(in retrospect, though, Bebop was mighty goofy too, so I wonder why I feel that way).

That’s before I mention the music, though, and I kind of have to mention the music, don’t I? Cowboy Bebop was one of the first shows I watched that had a really memorable soundtrack, and to this day it’s still more memorable than almost everything else(except maybe for FLCL). I still immediately recognise a Bebop song if one starts playing on the internet radio(the particular channel is called AnimeAMAZE, if someone happens to be interested), and for over a year I listened through the soundtrack regularly maybe once a month. I can’t overstate how much I like it.

But, speaking of details and certain elements of the show, I have to mention the elephant in the room, i.e. the part of the show that I actively thought was boring: The overarching storyline with Vicious. I never got into it, and as such most of the two-part finale disappointed me(save for the final scenes, which I thought were great). And while I liked how Ballad of Fallen Angels looked and sounded, I never actually ended up liking the episode. Which is sad. But all the more reason to rewatch the show, because maybe I’ll like those parts of the show the second time around. You never know.

Leave a Reply

