Why I’m not writing a “2015 in review” post

…and why I didn’t participate in 12 days of anime. And, finally, why my Christmas present to Chris is going to be a little late. The reason is not ideological or anything like that, I simply don’t have the energy. Christmas time is stressful enough with all the shopping in full-packed stores and frantically searching for that one thing that’s sold out seemingly everywhere.

Some of you may know that I tried to write a “year in review” post last year(more specifically, on new year’s eve). It never materialised, and that made me feel like a failure. I was frustrated and angry, and it was not good for my mental health. Eventually, the lingering determination and the new year’s resolution I’d made(which was to write more in 2015) led me to create this blog. That’s something I’m happy about, but my blog can’t come at the expense of my health.

Which is what happened last week. Last week I wrote four GDTL posts(which will be published in February) and a preview mega post for next season(which will be published tomorrow). At almost 3500 words, that mega post equals around 11 GDTL posts, which means I really did write a lot last week. And it took its toll on both my physical and my mental health. During my weekly talk with my therapist, I noticed that I was much more wound up and stressed than usual, which made the whole experience kind of unpleasant. Last week I also had headaches and stomachaches more frequently than usual.

And so, with a little help from my therapist, I realised that I should probably take it easy for a while. Not that I can avoid the Christmas stress entirely, but I shouldn’t be adding difficult(and especially not completely new) writing projects on top of that. So, that means I’ll be going on hiatus until the Winter 2016 anime season starts, which is January 5th by the looks of it. This won’t actually have many visible effects due to the fact that all of my GDTL posts and the aforementioned preview mega post are already done and will be published on schedule, but it will mean that I won’t have any special posts for the end of the year.

On one hand it makes me sad that, for the second year in a row, I will fail to write a more comprehensive kind of blog post, but I’m sure I’ll feel better after I get to properly relax for a while. I know, I know, writing this post is counterproductive in itself, but I wanted to write it. Because I love you all, and I am eternally grateful that you read my blog at all. Thank you, merry Christmas, and a happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

