Going Down The List: Girls und Panzer

(MAL LINK)

If I recall correctly, Girls und Panzer was the first anime I watched on Crunchyroll(It’s still there, so go watch it). First, the bad things: I was never, and still am not, a fan of the slice of life school stuff in Girls und Panzer. I also don’t particularly care for the characters or their personal quirks. This feeling was reinforced when I watched the Anzio OVA about a year ago. If it came down only to those aspects of the show, I wouldn’t be a particularly big fan.

Fortunately, that’s not the case. I happen to love tanks, panzers and all related things, World War 2-era stuff in particular. I used to play a ton of Company of Heroes back in the day, and I’ve seen Band of Brothers like 4 times. Which reminds me that I should play CoH again and rewatch BoB. Ok, so, I’m not a true tank and military geek, but Girls und Panzer did scratch my itch pretty well, and that’s all that matters to me. It’s not a perfect show when it comes to characters and comedy, but the tank-on-tank action is really, and I mean really, exciting.

Lorem Ipsum. And that’s why it’s so great that GuP is essentially a sports anime, because it means there’s a lot of that action. One of my other favourite sports anime, Saki, has a more enjoyable cast of characters, but when it comes to the intensity of the games, it doesn’t hold a candle to GuP. On some level, though, remembering that I’m watching a show inspired by a war in which tens of millions of people died makes me feel bad. Mahjong feels innocent(because it is), tank battles less so. Regardless, I can’t help liking it. Maybe it appeals to some primal instinct of mine, in which case I think it’s better that I get excited over this show rather than real life.

Leave a Reply

