Going Down The List: GJ-bu

(MAL LINK)

I actually hold this show in high regard. Back when it had finished airing, I described it as “SoL comedy perfected”. Of course, back then I had no idea what I was talking about because I had only been watching anime for like 3 months, but the reason I made that bold statement is worth talking about. Basically, GJ-bu hones in on and restructures the usual SoL comedy cliches in such a way that the result is as inoffensive as possible. In my opinion, it makes the result very accessible to people who are new to anime and easily turned off by the skeevier parts of the cliches.

Let me explain what I mean by that. For instance, while the main character is surrounded by girls all the time, he doesn’t show any signs of stereotypical manhood. He’s cute and weak and his special skill is to brush hair. The girls, on the other hand, embody many stereotypical archetypes, but somehow the result ends up being extremely cute instead of annoying. I can’t really put my finger on why that is, but I’m guessing that it was no accident.

All of that said, the downside of the fact that GJ-bu felt so unremarkably inoffensive is that after watching the finale of the first and only season, I never had a desire to watch more of it. An OVA was made later on, but I never watched it. I just wasn’t interested. In addition, I’ve since found that I can still enjoy “more offensive” shows if they just have interesting hooks or gimmicks. Over time, GJ-bu has slowly sunken to the bottom of the barrel, because as I said, it’s unremarkable. And I guess that’s kind of unfortunate.

Leave a Reply

