Going Down The List: Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?

(MAL LINK)

GochiUsa is like the opposite of GJ-bu. It has those cliches, it has a gimmick that it uses way too much, and it’s occasionally very annoying. On the bright side, though, in its dissimilarity to GJ-bu, it’s actually memorable! Being the only show I know of that is rabbit-centric(dog- and cat-centricism is much more common), it’s my go to show when I want to look at cute rabbits and cute girls talking about rabbits. It stands out in that respect.

It is, however, impossible for me to ignore the annoying stuff completely. I’m not a big fan of the characters in general and Sharo, Rize and Kokoa in particular. Sharo(I apologise for almost writing “sharto”) is like a budget(heh) Aya from Kinmosa, Rize is… a heavily armed higher-budget Aya and Kokoa is a fool whose bumbling gets boring to watch pretty quickly. These are the main reasons I dropped the first season after 7 episodes(I finished it more than a year later).

The second season kind of fixes some of those problems, though. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve changed or something since I watched the first season, but I’m enjoying the second season much more than I ever enjoyed the first one. Sure, the unfairly cute ED helps, but it doesn’t explain everything. Maybe it’s because, while I’m still somewhat annoyed by Sharo, Rize and Kokoa, I’ve come to like Chiya and Chino a lot. Also, the story(which was pretty much non-existent in the first season) feels much tighter now, and it’s already resulted in many sensibly funny moments in S2. But I’ll refrain from speculating too much. Instead, I’m just going to enjoy the fact that I enjoy S2.

Leave a Reply

