Going Down The List: Golden Time

(MAL LINK)

I actually liked Golden Time, which is why I think it’s kind of unfortunate that its only legacy is the “TADA BANRI” meme. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it was a spectacular show, but I wish it had left at least some other impression on people. Ok, I guess “2D-kun best girl” is good enough. Anyway, a worthy spiritual successor to Toradora it was not, but I had fun marathoning the second half while lying on the couch.

Golden Time had all the opportunity in the world to be something special. The university setting, the supporting characters and their chemistry, those were both good. But when it came to the main characters, the show ended up going in circles. The amnesia thing felt very forced and artificial, but that wasn’t the most annoying thing. No, the most annoying thing was just how bland Tada Banri was, which also made the other main characters feel bland. The fact that there was a ghost that put a curse on Tada Banri didn’t help either.

To be honest, I don’t even remember how Golden Time ends. That’s how bad I think the pacing and structure was. And that’s why I initially dropped the show after approximately the first half, because it just wasn’t enjoyable to watch weekly. But, as I mentioned above, lying on the couch and doing other stuff while having it in the background… When watched that way, it worked for me. I even got emotional at times! So yeah, it was far from perfect, but I had fun watching it, so it was at least doing something right.

Leave a Reply

