Going Down The List: Haibane Renmei

(MAL LINK)

Another show that I’ve written about before(here)! In this case, though, I’ve already said most of what I want to say, so this post is probably going to be unusually short. Ok, so, I’ll preface this by saying that I use the word “deep” sparingly when describing anime because I don’t like the usual connotations of it. But when it comes to Haibane Renmei, I want to use that word. Not because I think Haibane Renmei is “super cerebral” or “inaccessible to casual viewers”, but as the opposite of the word “shallow”.

Whether it being “deep” is a good thing or a bad thing, however, that is something I haven’t figured out yet. Don’t get me wrong, I love the atmosphere and the setting and the music and the character designs, almost everything, but I couldn’t fully get into the show for some reason. I felt like it lacked focus. Yeah, I know that’s a vague answer, but there was just something I couldn’t shake off no matter how hard I tried to just enjoy it.

Or maybe I’m just due for a rewatch. After all, it’s not a very long show.

Leave a Reply

