Going Down The List: Hi☆sCoool! SeHa Girls

(MAL LINK)

Had this been a show made by Nintendo, Microsoft or Sony, it would probably have sucked. Why? Because that’s what shows that are made purely for advertisement are usually like. Super Sonico comes to mind, as do a dozen shows the names of which I’ve already forgotten. Houkago no Pleiades is an exception(and one could argue that it actually has a story and characters beside the broomsticks that make Subaru engine noises). But Sega Hard Girls is different.

Sega Hard Girls is different because it capitalises on the fact that Sega have a ton of iconic IPs under their belt, some of which are still popular despite not having had new installments in years or decades. Or, as in the case of Sonic, IPs that have had mostly abysmal installments lately. And, in general, there’s just something about Sega that stands out. I’ve never owned one of their consoles, and the Dreamcast was discontinued almost 15 years ago, but I still recognised almost every reference in Sega Hard Girls. I know what a Mega Drive is, I know what a Saturn is, I recognised Virtua Fighter and Jet Set Radio.

And I flipped out when I saw Sonic. Why? I honestly have no idea. I’ve been a Sony customer for almost 20 years soon, but as I already said, I think a similar show sponsored by Sony would have been boring and terrible. I’ve played half a dozen of Crash games, but Sonic is just a better mascot than Crash Bandicoot. Sega have this kind of magic touch. Not when it comes to actually making games, but when it comes to creating icons.

2 thoughts on “Going Down The List: Hi☆sCoool! SeHa Girls

  1. Looks like some kind of a cheaper Neptunia, I wonder how I missed that, as I always prefer the series with shorter episodes. Adding to the list for now, will check out in the future :)

Leave a Reply

