Going Down The List: Hibike! Euphonium

(MAL LINK)

Oh dear… This is going to be difficult, isn’t it? I could sing this show’s praises for days on end, so I really don’t know where to start. Well, I guess I could start by mentioning the things I didn’t like, which is going to be a pretty short list, but whatever. I felt the pacing was a bit erratic, especially in the episodes around the Festival, and in the finale. Sure, the performance in the final episode was wonderful, but I felt like the show ended too suddenly after that.

Well, I mean, that was only a problem back when no sequel had been announced. Now that we know there’s going to be a recap movie and a second season, my feelings about the finale have settled down. And, in retrospect, what a finale it was! Two seasons in a row, we got two fantastic musical finales. First Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, then Euphonium. Not only was the finale very well put together, it also concluded or advanced all of the most important character arcs, so even if it ended pretty suddenly, it was still satisfying.

And that’s not even mentioning how it looked. Euphonium was, in my opinion, by far the best-looking show of Spring 2015. Kekkai Sensen came close at times, but when it came to the really technical stuff, Euphonium blew everything else out of the water. It’s one of the best-looking anime I’ve ever seen. I know I’m mostly gushing here and not really explaining what I mean, but I really do have to mention how good it looks.

The next thing I’ll mention, however, is not something that I feel like I need to mention, and I don’t even really want to mention it: The twitter arguments about the yuri elements. As far as I know, the source novel confirms that it’s not just a case of “yuri baiting”, but it’s undeniable that the anime, or at least the first season, left it intentionally ambiguous. The unfortunate thing is that the twitter arguments ended in lots of hurt feelings. I want to think that that was just because people liked the show and were emotionally invested in it, but I can only speak for myself when I say that I never meant to be mean about it. I liked Eupho, but not so much that I’d want to make other people sad over it.

Leave a Reply

