Going Down The List: Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls

(MAL LINK)

Why? Why did I watch this? Why did I decide to watch this? Why did I finish it? Well, ok, at first I didn’t regret it, but then I got to the tentacle episode, and it all kinda went downhill from there. It was so bad that I honestly can’t remember almost anything about it. What I do remember is that it truly does deserve the description “horrible”.

In case anyone is still reading this, however, I would like to point out that Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls does have some charm points. Not enough to make the show anything other than horrible, but interesting points nonetheless. The most obvious one being the art style, which is unlike almost any other anime I’ve seen. On some levels the colour work brings Mononoke to mind, but the lines are totally different, as are the character designs, obviously. In addition, I will acknowledge that the girls’ character designs are larger and less needle-thin than in most ecchi shows. It’s not quite Maken-ki-esque extreme with the body types(which I should watch specifically for that aspect of it), but it’s always refreshing to see thicker legs from time to time.

Writing that made me feel kind of weird, so I’m going to stop now. This show doesn’t really deserve any more advertising.

Leave a Reply

