Going Down The List: Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san

(MAL LINK)

This show was not particularly memorable. In fact, there was so little memorable stuff in it that I can barely remember any details about it. Going by MAL, though, I can say that I thought it was average, and the episodes were only 3 minutes long. Oh, and I also remember that it was extremely gay in all the best possible ways. The way the girls interacted with each other just made me heart go really doki doki. I’m not even embarrassed to use that term here, that’s how sweet it was.

Of course, being gay is not an absolute requirement when it comes to my enjoyment. Had half of the characters been boys instead, the show could have been just as cute. It’s just that… boy-girl relationships in anime tend not to be portrayed in a similarly cute way. I got the same impression while watching Sakura Trick. I feel like it wouldn’t have been as cute had half of the girls been boys instead.

I wish Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san had been longer and had longer episodes. Not because I thought it was really good – as I said above I thought it was average – but because I think there’s a huge void that could be filled with cute borderline romance shows. There are many moe slice of life shows with yuri elements, sure, but I feel like Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san is on a different level. It’s closer to Sakura Trick(and maybe Aoi Hana) than it is to stuff like Kinmosa and Gochiusa.

Leave a Reply

