Going Down The List: Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

(MAL LINK)

Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, aka Jintai, aka Humanity Has Declined, was probably the first somewhat obscure psychological anime that I watched, though I didn’t really understand it at the time. It’s been nearly 3 years since I watched it, though, so most of the things that took me a long time to understand have sadly slipped away from my memory in that long span of time. Jintai is one of the shows that I feel like I should rewatch, even though I don’t necessarily want to.

What I do remember, however, is the critique on society that the show engages in almost constantly. After all, the premise of the show is that human civilisation has fallen and mysterious Fairies, whose culture is very different from humanity, have taken their place. In particular, I remember the first two episodes – the ones with the bleeding loaf of bread – where I think the focus of the critique was industrialism, and that one episode where Watashi and Y get trapped in a manga, which I think is a jab at the manga or anime industry(correct me if I’m wrong).

Most notably, though, I think Jintai was the show that introduced me to dark humour in anime. Before Jintai I hadn’t watched any anime in which death had been taken lightly or joked about, so I was quite shocked by the sheer number of casual mentions of suicide, genocide and death in general. As weird as the ever-smiling Fairies are in themselves, the thing that really makes them feel otherworldly is how morbid they can be. And the way Watashi just accepts their morbidity without even batting an eye is just creepy in the most wonderful way. I really should rewatch it.

Leave a Reply

