Going Down The List: Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai

(MAL LINK)

First of all, I know the show has been criticised for skipping over certain parts of the manga during the process of adaptation, but as I haven’t read the manga I don’t really have an opinion on this. The fact that I watched the first season like within half a year of starting my anime-watching also means that were I to watch it for the first time right now I’d probably have a very different opinion of the show. But it is what it is, and so are my memories of the show.

Around the time when I first started watching Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai, aka The World God Only Knows(aka TWGOK), I had been watching shows like Cowboy Bebop and Evangelion, so you could say that I was firmly out of my “I love harem shows” phase. So when I started watching TWGOK, I was pretty cynical about it(which is probably reflected in my final rating on MAL), and I expected to pretty much hate it. But I didn’t. I discovered that a harem romcom full of video game jokes and references was just what I needed. Later I learned of the term “iyashikei”(healing), which is a pretty accurate term for what happened to me while watching the show. TWGOK is usually not labeled an iyashikei show, but it has plenty of elements that can have that effect.

Like Keima being a goof who pretends he’s super smooth and smart. Like Elsie being a goof and failing to hide it. Or Elsie being disproportionately excited about fire trucks(“shoubousha” ended up being the most complex Japanese noun I knew at the time). Or just Elsie in general. And these things pretty much carried the show for me through the less exciting arcs and characters, and eventually through the second season. And I was hoping the same thing would be the case for the third season, Megami-hen. But, to my surprise, that’s not what happened. Megami-hen actually managed to make the drama interesting, and the way the season ended was pretty fantastic in my opinion. It was around this time that TWGOK stopped being a “guilty pleasure” for me. I realised that I actually think the show is pretty good.

One thought on “Going Down The List: Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai

  1. Glad you seemed to like it. I think I had the opposite complete impression. I liked the character designs and the silly-ness, at first. It was just that I was in a full anime depression mode. I was full cynical =/.

    Reading about your take was helpful. Maybe if I revisit it, I could see it more than average or a guilty pleasure xD…

Leave a Reply

