Going Down The List: Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko

(MAL LINK)

When I wrote about 5cm Per Second I noted that I wasn’t a big fan of Makoto Shinkai’s writing anymore, except when it comes to his short films like Dareka no Manazashi and She and Her Cat, aka Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko, i.e. this movie. For some reason I didn’t write a GDTL post about Dareka no Manazashi(I suspect it’s because I thought it’d be too difficult to write about such a short film, but I digress), but right now at this moment I realise that I regret not doing so. The reason for this is that I remember a lot about Dareka no Manazashi, because I’ve seen it several times, while my memory of Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko is hazy at best. I remember liking it, though.

In any case, there is actually a good reason that I’m writing about this show even though I skipped Dareka no Manazashi, and that is because it was recently announced that Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko was to receive a TV adaptation consisting of 4 short episodes(replacing Kono Danshi, Mahou ga Oshigoto Desu, which replaced Tabi Machi Late Show, in the USAT time slot on Fridays). The reason I write “was” instead of “is” is not because the plan was canned but because at the time that this post is released, the 3rd episode will have just aired. Unfortunately, since this post is a message from the past, I can’t comment on what the TV show is like, but I’m excited to find out!

 

Leave a Reply

