Spring 2016 Preview Mega Post

Last time I did this I felt like my writing was getting excessively formulaic and repetitive, so this season I’m going to insert some more facts(date of premiere, studio, director, etc.) and maybe shorten my opinions a little bit. It’ll probably make for a shorter post in general, but I hope it’ll still be somewhat entertaining to read.

EDIT March 22 2016: Re:Zero airdate now known, removed section on Manaria Friends due to lack of information.

 


Friday

Mayoiga

Update: I was previously unaware that the production of this show was partially crowdfunded. I personally don’t find that an encouraging sign when it comes to the eventual quality of the show, but take it as you will. Could be good, could be bad.

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32438

  • Premiere: April 1
  • Studio: Diomedea
  • Director: Tsutomu Mizushima (Girls und Panzer, Shirobako, Prison School)
  • Series Composition: Mari Okada (AnoHana, Anthem of the Heart, Gundam Tekketsu)

Well, with a staff like that, this sure seems like an April Fools’ joke to me. I don’t mean that in a bad way, it just means that I was very surprised to learn that Tsutomu Mizushima is directing this, because when I looked at the PV and read the synopsis it sure didn’t seem like the kind of show he’d direct. And as for Mari Okada’s involvement, well, the discussions around that are always half jokes and half serious. Anyway, as for the show itself, I found the PV uninformative, at least with regard to the synopsis, which is not very detailed either. There’s a shady bus tour for people who want to be “free of the world’s obstacles”, and they end up in a mysterious village. To me, that sounds like it could either be a run-of-the-mill mystery thriller or a transhumanist psychological drama.

Am I excited for it? Not really, at least not after reading the synopsis. Mizushima’s and Okada’s involvements make me somewhat hopeful, but I’m not expecting this to be anywhere near my favourite show of the season. But hey, it’s an original anime, so I really have no idea in which direction it will be going.

Uchuu Patrol Luluco

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32681

  • Premiere: April 1
  • Studio: Trigger
  • Director: Hiroyuki Imaishi (Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, Kill la Kill, Dead Leaves), Akira Amemiya (Inferno Cop, Ninja Slayer From Animation)
  • Series Composition: Hiroyuki Imaishi

Well, this should be interesting. Out of the two shows that Trigger will be making this season, Luluco is certainly the less prominent one in basically every way. That’s not automatically a bad thing, though. With Imaishi directing(and doing series composition, and being the original creator), it should be a pretty crazy-looking show, and I like the character designs. Were it a full-length show I probably would have no patience for it, but fortunately it’s a part of the 4th season of Ultra Super Anime Time(USAT), which means that it’s a short! I should be fine with 7-minute episodes.

I only discovered the existence of this show a few weeks ago, but since I learned that it would be a short by Trigger, I was basically hooked for good. Inferno Cop and Ninja Slayer are both very near and dear to me, and while I don’t think Luluco will be funny in the same way, I’m fairly sure I’ll enjoy it. I’m not even cautiously optimistic about this, I’m just optimistic. I will, however, say that the PV didn’t really tell me anything, but due to the nature of the people behind the show, I don’t think that matters too much. The charm of this show will most likely not be in the story.

Ushio to Tora (TV) 2nd Season

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31098

  • Premiere: April 1
  • Studio: MAPPA
  • Director: Satoshi Nishimura (Hajime no Ippo, Trigun)
  • Series Composition: Toshiki Inoue (Death Note, Dragon Ball Z, Hokuto no Ken)

I really, really liked the first 2 cours of Ushio to Tora. Ushio was maybe not the most interesting character in history, but Tora was fantastic, both seriously and with regard to comedy, and the story was pretty interesting.

Which is why I’m happy to learn that the 2nd season (the third cour) of Ushio to Tora will conclude the story. Far too often do adaptations end in a way that basically spells out “read the manga to find out how it ends”, so I’m happy that’s not the case here. I’m also happy about the fact that Kinniku Shoujo Tai (Kenji Ohtsuki’s band) will once again provide the OP. This is probably going to be one of my favourite shows of the season.

Kagewani: Shou

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32682

  • Premiere: April 1
  • Studio: Tomovies
  • Director, Original Creator: Tomoya Takashima
  • Script: Hiromu Kumamoto

There’s not much to say about this one. It’s a sequel to Kagewani, made by the same people and animated by the same studio. I guess the only surprising thing to me is that the show got a sequel at all, because it was a pretty low-profile short after all. I’m happy, though, because I kind of enjoyed Kagewani for what it was, and the first season did end on a cliffhanger, so a sequel was definitely warranted. As for time slot, Kagewani is returning to USAT, which means the episodes will be ~7 minutes long, which I think is a good length.

I was never the biggest fan of Kagewani’s style of animation – it looks like cardboard cutouts being placed on backgrounds – but I must admit that it fit the monster design pretty well, especially when it came to the eponymous Kagewani. It also made for some unintentionally funny moments that added memorable humour to the otherwise dark and serious horror story. This isn’t going to be my favourite show of the season either, but I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

Big Order (TV)

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31904

  • Premiere: April 15
  • Studio: Asread
  • Director: Nobuharu Kamanaka
  • Script, Series Composition: Katsuhiko Takayama (Aldnoah.Zero, Ga-Rei: Zero, ef: A Tale of Memories/Melodies)

Here’s another show directed by a relative newbie, and for a show like this I don’t think that’s a good sign. What I’m more worried about, however, is the scriptwriter. Ef was an alright show, and I liked Ga-Rei: Zero, but I hated Aldnoah.Zero. Combine this with the fact that the story is one of those “a select group of children suddenly have superpowers and this creates some sort of conflict” stories and I’m not expecting great things to come out of it. But… I’m still picking it up, because as far as similar stories lately have gone, I ended up liking Concrete Revolutio, and Bubuki Buranki was alright for what it was.

One the downside, I could not find a PV for Big Order, so it could really go in any direction. I’m not very optimistic, but this is not looking to be the worst show of the season. It’s based on a somewhat long-running manga(going on almost 5 years now) after all. And in any case, it’s only one of three long-format(I assume) shows I’ll be watching on Fridays, so it’s not like I’ll be able to bump it off citing only lack of time.

 


Saturday

Gyakuten Saiban: Sono “Shinjitsu,” Igiari!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31630

  • Premiere: April 2
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Director: Ayumu Watanabe (Space Brothers, Mysterious Girlfriend X, a few Doraemon movies)
  • Series Composition: Atsuhiro Tomioka (Disgaea (TV), Pokémon XY (TV), Tribe Cool Crew)

I’m unfamiliar with almost all of the director’s and series composer’s past works so I can’t comment on them from personal experience, but I have heard that Space Brothers is a good show and that Mysterious Girlfriend X had positive sides to it. And in my experience, A-1 Pictures tend not to be one of the worst studios out there. Sometimes they’re even great. But I’m not digging the art style at all here. It feels totally uninspired, even more so than in, for instance, Gate. It makes sense that the character designs are intended to be somewhat similar to the one in the games, but based on the CM I saw, I just don’t think it works that well.

And that also brings me to another problem: I’ve never played the games, and I haven’t particularly had the urge to either, because the idea of it just doesn’t seem appealing to me. I’m not that interested in courtroom dramas, I’ve seen too many live-action ones on TV, and nothing I’ve heard about the characters or the story outside of the courtroom sounds interesting to me. That said, I do sometimes like whimsical and absurd courtroom scenes, so if there is anything like that I might enjoy it to some extent. And anyway, this show is too high-profile to miss. I have to at least check it out.

Endride

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32608

  • Premiere: April 2
  • Studio: Brain’s Base
  • Director: Keiji Gotou
  • Series Composition: Touko Machida (The iDOLM@STER, Hitsugi no Chaika, Lucky Star)

Well, this is an interesting team for me, at least when juxtaposing the director and the series composer. I’m not familiar with almost anything done by Gotou, while Machida has worked on many shows that I’ve seen or at least heard of (though I don’t think I’ve heard her name mentioned before). The visuals of the show also interest me, mostly because the promo image and the PV make me think of Samurai Flamenco.

Had I not read the synopsis or watched the PV, I would have assumed that this, too, is going to be one of those “magic technology and systems” shows. Fortunately, though, that doesn’t seem to be the case. It’s an original anime that seems to be about bishounens in fantasy land. Which I’m not opposed to. In fact, I now kind of look forward to seeing what this show will be like. It doesn’t look like it’ll be mind-blowing or groundbreaking, but it may end up being just different enough to be interesting.

Kyoukai no Rinne 2nd Season

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31610

  • Premiere: April 9
  • Studio: Brain’s Base
  • Director: Seiki Sugawara (Kyoukai no Rinne, D-Frag!)
  • Series Composition: Michiko Yokote (Kyoukai no Rinne, Shirobako, Genshiken, and many many more)

Semi-new director, veteran series composer, that’s how it is for this show. But because this is a sequel, that doesn’t actually matter to me very much. There’s no guessing involved, I already know what this show is going to be like. It’s going to be a comedy with occasionally absurd supernatural phenomenon-related comedy, just like the first season. Possibly with a bit more romance this time. But I expect no new trump cards like a seriously interesting story or great animation or anything like that.

Which is both a good and a bad thing when it comes to this show. I thought the first season was mostly average with a few really funny moments(which was, in part, due to the witty translation), so I’m guessing the second season will be more or less average as well. However, what I can do is hope for a better OP and ED, because the 2nd OP and ED for the first season were both awful.

Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32093

  • Premiere: April 9
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Director: Shinya Kawatsura (Kokoro Connect, Non Non Biyori)
  • Series Composition: Akemi Omode (Pita Ten, script for Mobile Suit Gundam Wing, etc.)

Here’s the first thing on this list that I’m really excited about based on the PV! It looked cute and reasonably funny, and I can’t complain about the studio or director either(they cooperated well on Non Non Biyori and reasonably well on Kokoro Connect). The character designs feel like a mixture of shoujo manga and moe slice of life shows, and it works pretty well with the soft but crisp art style. This is one of the shows that I hope won’t end up being short-format, because I feel like I could definitely watch 20 minutes of it every week.

As for the story of the show, well, I’m not sure it matters much. Tanaka-kun is always sleepy, that’s basically the premise. The PV shows this leading to some possibly hilarious situations, though, so while I probably won’t care much for the story, I’m excited to see whether it can provide that sweetness and humour that I come to expect of most “laid-back” slice of life shows.

Kiznaiver

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31798

  • Premiere: April 9
  • Studio: Trigger
  • Director: Hiroshi Kobayashi
  • Series Composition, Script: Mari Okada

This is the other Trigger show I mentioned earlier, the high-profile one, the prominent one… And it’s being handled by a relatively inexperienced director (compared to Imaishi for Luluco, at the very least). Mari Okada is doing the script and the series composition, which might be a good thing in its own right, but for a Trigger show? It gives me the impression that Kiznaiver will be more along the lines of that LN adaptation Trigger did in 2014 that I didn’t watch and can’t even remember the name of rather than other more acclaimed Trigger/Gainax productions.

But in any case, I’m actually kind of looking forward to this, if only because of the visuals in the PV. Based on  the synopsis, I think it can be lumped together with Big Order when it comes to the story (sci-fi, some sort of technological/magic system, etc.), so it’ll definitely have to deliver on style, or music, if it wants to impress me. And unlike the case of Big Order, my Saturdays look to be pretty stacked, so Kiznaiver will have to impress me quickly if it’s to remain undropped.

Hai-Furi

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31500

  • Premiere: April 9
  • Studio: Production IMS
  • Director: Yuu Nobuta (Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai)
  • Script, Series Composition: Reiko Yoshida (Aria the Animation, Girls und Panzer, K-On!)

You know, I’m starting to run out of different ways to say that the director is inexperienced and that that series composer/scriptwriter is a veteran, but that is once again the case here. In this case, however, the studio is one that I’m unfamiliar with, so I don’t want to speculate too much. But I just have to say that I’m really excited about the level of the scriptwriters so far this season. I’m expecting great stories from Yokote, Okada and Yoshida in particular.

Returning for a moment to Hai-Furi, the story as explained by the synopsis reminds me greatly of Nagi no Asukara. Unfortunately, however, the PV makes this show seem very lighthearted and cutesy, which is not the aspect of Nagi no Asukara that I thought was good. So if the shows do end up being similar to each other, it probably won’t be in a good way. So, I’m not keeping my hopes up, but I’m open to being pleasantly surprised by this show.

Flying Witch

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31376

  • Premiere: April 9
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Director: Katsushi Sakurabi (Kamisama no Memochou, Shingetsutan Tsukihime, etc.)
  • Series Composition: Hitomi Mieno (Akagami no Shirayuki-hime, Arakawa Under the Bridge, Noragami)

In the case of this show, the staff seems solid. Not my dream team, but it’s solid. And the PVs are encouraging. The show looks good, it sounds good, and I like the style. The characters’ eyes look kind of weird, but I can get over that. I’m kind of mystified about the fact that the source material is a shounen manga, because this feels very seinen, but whatever. Since when do I care about demographics?

As for story and setting, based on the PVs alone, Flying Witch ticks all of my boxes. It seems cute without trying to be overly cutesy, it seems funny without going for that high-energy comedy angle and it feels atmospheric without signs of melancholy. In those three ways it seems like it’s going to destroy Hai-Furi, but I’m going to wait and see. Who knows, maybe I’ll end up liking both for very different reasons.

 


Sunday

Boku no Hero Academia

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31964

  • Premiere: April 3
  • Studio: Bones
  • Director: Kenji Nagasaki (Classroom Crisis, Gundam Build Fighters, No.6)
  • Script, Series Composition: Yousuke Kuroda (Ano Natsu de Matteru, Gundam Build Fighters, Hachimitsu to Clover)

Here’s the next Shounen Jump adaptation, and based on the studio and staff, it seems like it’s going to be a pretty cool one. And based on the PV, it’s going to look good as well. Apparently Kiznaiver isn’t the only show this season that’s going for that hand-drawn look with thick lines. I haven’t read the manga but I have heard good things about it, so if Bones can juggle this and their two other shows this season, Hero Academia should at the very least be a good popcorn show.

Story-wise, I must once again place this in the “sci-fi with a magical/technological system of some sort” box together with Big Order and Kiznaiver. Well, except in this case, it seems like it’ll be closer to One Punch Man than those two shows. But, again, I feel like this show will focus less on the intrigue of the story and more on the style, characters and rule of cool. And if it does that, and if Froppy ends up being as great as other people tell me she is, Hero Academia might end up being the highlight of my Sundays.

Pan de Peace!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31498

  • Premiere: April 3
  • Studio: Asahi Production
  • Director: Hatsuki Tsuji
  • Series Composition: Momoko Murakami (Mahou Shoujo Nante Mou Ii Desukara, Nurse Witch Komugi-chan R)

This seems like it’s going to be a very low-profile production, especially considering I’m not familiar with the studio or the director, and the series composer is relatively inexperienced. And, combined with the fact that it’s based on a 4-koma manga, I wouldn’t be surprised if this ended up being a 3- or 7-minute short. There’s no PV, so all I can say about the technical side is that the character designs in the promo image look cute, but not unique in any way.

So, the story is apparently about a girl who loves eating bread for breakfast, and she loves all baked goods. And apparently her friends do too. I don’t know, I feel like it’s not going to be as funny or cute as Ojisan to Marshmallow, but who knows.

Macross Δ (Macross Delta)

http://myanimelist.net/anime/28013

  • Premiere: April 3
  • Studio: Satelight
  • Director, Original Creator: Shoji Kawamori (Macross, AKB0048, Sousei no Aquarion)
  • Script, Series Composition: Toshizou Nemoto (Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou, Inu x Boku SS, etc.)

I have been waiting for this show ever since I started watching Macross early last year, and I’ve been yearning for it since the preview episode aired on New Year’s Eve 2015. Visually, it sort of reminds me of AKB0048, but mostly when it comes to the colours, not the character designs. The way the music seems to be implemented into the show also reminds me of AKB0048, and that’s a very good thing in my opinion. I expect this show to look and sound great where it really counts… except maybe in the CG.

Setting-wise I feel like the most important things are there, such as the interplanetary travel and transport (which was one of my favourite things about AKB0048 and Macross Plus). There haven’t been many announcement regarding the story, so I don’t know what I’m in for in that respect, but I’m guessing there will be at least one love triangle. Though the love triangles are probably my least favourite aspect of Macross, I’m still really looking forward to this show.

Concrete Revolutio: Choujin Gensou – The Last Song

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32313/Concrete_Revolutio__Choujin_Gensou_-_The_Last_Song

  • Premiere: April 3
  • Studio: Bones
  • Director: Seiji Mizushima (Fullmetal Alchemist, Rakuen Tsuihou: Expelled from Paradise, Gundam 00)
  • Script: Shou Aikawa (Fullmetal Alchemist, RahXephon, Eureka Seven AO)

The situation with this show is pretty much the same as with Ushio to Tora. It’s split-cour, and I liked the first season, so I’m looking forward to seeing more. Unlike Ushio to Tora, however, Conrevo isn’t an adaptation, so I can only hope that it ends in a satisfying and conclusive manner.

What I’m most worried about regarding this show is the fact that Bones are producing two other shows this season (last time it was only one other show), so the quality may suffer as a result, and the first season didn’t look that good in the first place (in terms of technical quality, I mean. I loved the style for the most part). Or maybe I have no idea what I’m talking about when it comes to production. I hope that’s the case and that the second season ends up looking great.

Kuma Miko: Girl Meets Bear

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31804

  • Premiere: April 3
  • Studio: Kinema Citrus
  • Director: Kiyoshi Matsuda
  • Script: Pierre Sugiura (Barakamon), Masao Iketani

The screenwriters seem to be in-house staff at Kinema Citrus, but the director has done storyboard, episode direction and key animation for various shows. This will, however, be his first time directing a whole series. Fortunately, though, this is a manga adaptation and the comedy genre is maybe not the most difficult genre to work with, so I’m not concerned about the relative newness of the staff. And based on the PVs, it looks like it’ll be a funny and cute show.

What I am worried about is the fact that the premise and the feeling I got from the PVs sort of remind me of Gugure! Kokkuri-san, which started out well but ended up being not very funny. But, that’s only the worst case scenario. In reality I’m expecting this to be decent or better. And if it’s bad, oh well, there are lots of other shows to watch on Sundays.

Re:Zero Kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31240

  • Premiere: April 3
  • Studio: White Fox
  • Director: Masaharu Watanabe (Wakaba*Girl)
  • Series Composition: Masahiro Yokotani (Free!, Hataraku Maou-sama!, Shimoseka)

The director for this seems to have mostly key animation-related experience, but the series composer has been relatively prolific in the last few years. I fear that won’t be good enough to distract me from the fact that this is an LN adaptation, and the announcement video tells me that the character designs aren’t going to be anything interesting either. But that’s not why I decided to watch this show. I decided to watch it purely because of the story.

And that’s because the story is a time travel story, kind of. More specifically, the main character is able to rewind time, and that’s a story element I find inherently interesting. And who knows, maybe it ends up being an enjoyable show. Hataraku Maou-sama was also an LN adaptation (and also animated by White Fox), and I liked that one a lot. I will admit that I’m not very optimistic about this show, but I can always hope.

Sansha Sanyou

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31564

  • Premiere: April 10
  • Studio: Doga Kobo
  • Director: Yasuhiro Kimura
  • Series Composition: Hideaki Koyasu (GJ-bu)

Inexperienced director and experienced series composer? Yep, you guessed it. The series composer is maybe not totally a veteran, but considering that Sansha Sanyou is looking to be a school slice of life comedy, I’d say screenwriting experience from GJ-bu, Love Lab, Minami-ke and Yuru Yuri counts for something. At least I find it encouraging. The visuals also impressed me to the point where I think this might end up being my favourite moe show of the season. We’ll see.

The most confusing thing about the PV is that it heavily features bread, which means I’m probably going to confuse this with Pan de Peace at least once. Other than that, there seems to be nothing noteworthy about the story. But, as I’ve said before, story is not necessarily important when it comes to cutesy shows.

 


Monday

Bakuon!!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/30795

  • Premiere: April 4
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Director: Junji Nishimura (Fuujin Monogatari, Glasslip, True Tears)
  • Series Composition: Kurasumi Sunayama

I’ve read the manga, so I know approximately what this show is going to be like. However, I’m not a great fan of the manga (I think the reference to K-On is too obvious and obnoxious), so the anime is going to have to do something interesting if it wants me to pay attention. Based on the PV, it’s at least going to be visually decent, but visuals only go so far.

The biggest question mark regarding the show, and the thing that I’m most interested in seeing, is whether it will significantly differ from the manga in some way and, if it does, in what way will it differ. My hope is that the story will be somewhat shortened and streamlined, but stuff like good voice acting, jokes and the music might end up being good enough for me. Fingers crossed.

Usakame

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32454

  • Premiere: April 11
  • Studio: Millepensee
  • Director: Shin Itagaki

This is a spin-off of Teekyuu. If you don’t know what Teekyuu is, watch Teekyuu (or Takamiya Nasuno Desu, another Teekyuu spin-off). If you watched Teekyuu and didn’t like it, I imagine you won’t like this either. That is if Usakame ends up being similar to Teekyuu, and I assume it will considering the director and the studio are the same.

And I’m very much hoping Usakame will be similar to Teekyuu, because as far as I know Teekyuu will not be airing this season, so I really need Usakame to fill the void. This is a serious matter to me. Also, there’s not much else airing on Mondays.

Update: After watching the most recent episode of Teekyuu in which the Usakame characters are introduced, I am no longer worried. See image below.

 


Tuesday

Joker Game

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31405

  • Premiere: April 5
  • Studio: Production I.G
  • Director: Kazuya Nomura (Ghost in the Shell (2015), Robotics;Notes)
  • Series Composition: Taku Kishimoto (Gin no Saji, Haikyuu!!, Boku dake ga Inai Machi)

I’m not familiar with Nomura as a director, but Kishimoto is a name I recognised immediately, for better or for worse. And, of course, Production I.G being involved means this is going to be a somewhat high-profile production. Based on the PVs, the visuals are pretty good, and I also found no fault with the voice acting (it doesn’t seem like it’ll be similar to Gangsta where everyone had that annoying gangster accent).

The most interesting thing to me, however, is the story. It takes in pre-WW2 Japan, which is rare in itself, but it’s apparently going to be about the politics and events of that time period as well, not just an unrelated story that happens to be set in 1937. Lately, I’ve been interested in history and period dramas in general, so I’m very much looking forward to seeing what Joker Game will be like.

 


Wednesday

Sousei no Onmyouji

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32105

  • Premiere: April 6
  • Studio: Studio Pierrot
  • Director: Tomohisa Taguchi (Persona 4 The Golden Animation)
  • Series Composition: Naruhisa Arakawa (Active Raid, Outbreak Company, Yosuga no Sora, etc.)

The only thing directed by Taguchi that I’ve seen is episode 2 of Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, which ended with a pretty fantastic scene, and one of the only things I’ve seen of Arakawa’s work is Yosuga no Sora, which was amazing in its own way. Both of these facts combined with the cool-looking style in the PV makes me guess that Sousei no Onmyouji will either be great in an absurdly cool way or forgettable garbage.

And while I would like to say that this show, too, belongs to the “the main character is a user of a magic system and that’s pretty much it” group of shows, it’s not quite that simple. Something like that is apparently the premise, but the main character rejects it. And then there seems to be some odd-couple style teamwork involved, which could either be great or very annoying. This show is a total wildcard for me. The closest comparison I can make is that I kind of wish the main characters end up being like Yuu and Shinoa from Owari no Seraph.

Bungou Stray Dogs

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31478

  • Premiere: April 6
  • Studio: Bones
  • Director: Takuya Igarashi (Star Driver, Soul Eater, Captain Earth)
  • Script, Series Composition: Yoji Enokido (Star Driver, Captain Earth, Shoujo Kakumei Utena)

Finally another well-known director/screenwriter combo! I’ve still yet to see some of the acclaimed older series that they worked on, but I’ve seen Star Driver and I loved it. And, judging by the PVs, I have a feeling I’m at least going to love the action segments of Bungou Stray Dogs. But, because this is one of the 3 shows produced over at Bones this season, my biggest fear is that some kind of production disaster happens and this show ends up looking bad.

Story-wise, the synopsis kind of reminds me of Kekkai Sensen in some ways, which is not at all a bad thing. I’m looking forward to this, and not with cautious optimism, just regular optimism. At the very least, I think it’s going to be a decent action show.

 


Thursday

Unhappy♪

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31080

  • Premiere: April 7
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Director: Shin Oonuma (ef: A Tale of Memories/Melodies, Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya, Paniponi Dash!)
  • Series Composition: Jin Tanaka (Go! Princess Precure)

I want to say that I’m hopeful about this show because of the merits of the staff, but I can’t say for sure that Shin Oonuma directing is a good thing(ef and Prisma Illya both had good and bad sides) or that the reason I hear good things about GoPriPre is because of the series composition. In any case, this is another school comedy slice of life by Silver Link, which to me is a decent enough sign in itself. The PV corroborates this sign, because it looks exactly like something I’d enjoy.

And, surprisingly, the story also seems interesting. Sure, I imagine it’ll be one of those shows where the main character is actually really genki but is lumped together with the eponymously unhappy people due to a misunderstanding or something, but if that is not the case the themes could actually end up being really intriguing. I’m looking forward to it.

Kuromukuro

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32245

  • Premiere: April 7
  • Studio: P.A. Works
  • Director: Tensai Okamura (Darker than Black, Nanatsu no Taizai, Sekai Seifuku: Bouryaku no Zvezda)
  • Series Composition: Ryou Higaki (Another)

A mecha show animated by P.A. Works and directed by the director of Bouryaku no Zvezda? Sign me up, please! This is apparently P.A. Works’ 15th anniversary project, and what I saw of it in the PV looked pretty cool. That said, I’m not really feeling the samurai guy character in the promo image.

And the reason is that he reminds me too much of Kyouma from Dimension W, which was another show that looked great on paper and in PVs but ended up being disappointing (at least in my opinion). Based on the synopsis, though, it seems that the story is at least not going to be too similar to Dimension W. Still, I can only be cautiously optimistic about Kuromukuro. I hope it ends up being good.

Koutetsujou no Kabaneri

http://myanimelist.net/anime/28623

  • Premiere: April 7
  • Studio: Wit Studio
  • Director: Tetsurou Araki (Shingeki no Kyojin, Guilty Crown, Death Note)
  • Script, Series Composition: Ichiro Okouchi (Planetes, Kakumeiki Valvrave, Code Geass)

By the director and studio behind Attack on Titan, it’s… an original anime that looks really similar to Attack on Titan, all the way down to the titans and the attacking. And the walls. Yeah, the PVs really make this look like a rip-off of Attack on Titan. That said, I don’t care too much, because I absolutely love the steampunk designs, which are much more exaggerated than the ones in Attack on Titan. As long as Wit Studio can keep the production from going off the rails, I have a feeling I’ll really love this as an action show.

Story-wise, yeah, it’s similar to Attack on Titan, though with the addition that the titans are also zombies and can infect humans by biting them. Also, trains apparently play a big role in the setting, which I’m ok with, because I like trains. I’m actually surprisingly excited about this show. Let’s hope it turns out to be more than just a mediocre rip-off.

Shounen Maid

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32175

  • Premiere: April 7
  • Studio: 8bit
  • Director: Yuusuke Yamamoto (NHK ni Youkoso!, Aquarion Evol, Yama no Susume)
  • Series Composition: Yoshiko Nakamura (Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun)

After the wonderful surprise that was Akagami no Shirayuki-hime, I kind of wanted to bash the next shoujo show that came along, condemning it to the garbage can with such shows as Donten ni Warau. However, considering this show is going to be directed by Yuusuke Yamamoto, whose work on Yama no Susume I absolutely loved, I can’t do that. I want it to be cute and sweet and great, and judging by the PV it at the very least fulfills the first of those.

As for the story, well, it looks like the setup will be similar to the one in Hayate no Gotoku, except maybe less crazy, and with the obvious butler-to-maid role reversal. An idea I find pretty adorable, I must say, though I do see the potential for exploitation that might make for some uncomfortable scenes. So let’s hope this is not that kind of show.

Sakamoto desu ga?

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32542

  • Premiere: April 7
  • Studio: Studio Deen
  • Director: Shinji Takamatsu (Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou, etc.)

I love the Sakamoto desu ga manga a lot, which is why my expectations – or hopes, rather – for the adaptation are extremely high. It’s not like with One Punch Man where I was hoping for (and, for the most part, got) great animation, but I feel like Sakamoto requires a lot of work to bring out just how absurd and funny the scenes are. And for that, in my opinion, I could not have asked for a better director than Shinji Takamatsu, purely because of his work on Danshi Koukosei no Nichijou. If anyone can make the anime as funny as the manga, it’s him.

For those who aren’t familiar with the character Sakamoto, well, he’s basically perfect. He can do anything and everything, sometimes even beyond the laws of nature and physics. That in itself is funny, but the funniest thing is everyone else’s reactions to him. And I think that’s where everything can either go right or wrong. The cues for when to laugh and when to look at what Sakamoto is doing need to be subtle but not too convoluted. Based on the PV, though, it seems that many of the scenes will be almost identical to the manga, so maybe I’m worrying needlessly.

 


Wow, this ended up being a lot longer than last time, even though I tried to make it shorter. So now I really hope that you found it at least somewhat informative.

2 thoughts on “Spring 2016 Preview Mega Post

  1. You’ll note you mentioned the director and composer for Manaria Friends in the write-up, but it’s TBA above, because the show’s prior team might have been scrapped, and the show will almost certainly not air this season any longer.

    Fortunately, though, this is a manga adaptation and the comedy genre is maybe not the most difficult genre to work with, so I’m not concerned about the relative newness of the staff.

    Here we see the difference between someone like you, who in general enjoys “anime comedy”, and myself, who doesn’t. I think it’s actually the most difficult of all genres to work with, because in the manga, “comedic timing” doesn’t really exist, cause you read at your own pace, while in anime, this is what all jokes live and die by, and they almost always end up dying. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun is a prime example, of smart jokes, that were murdered by the pacing of their delivery.

    It might be the easiest genre to “just do”, and hope the audience laughs about the writing/ideas, which looking at discussion boards, they usually do. But it’s the hardest genre to actually do well.

      1. Quick fixed with strikethroughs. Might rewrite or delete the entire section later, depending on whether we get more info about the production or not.

      2. Yeah, I realise there are huge differences in the ways we look at “anime comedy”. In general, I look at comedies not as shows that I watch to make me laugh but more of as “safe” shows that are not too difficult to watch and that I can have enjoyable discussions about with other people.

Leave a Reply

