Going Down The List: Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä

(MAL LINK)

I watched Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä for the first, and so far only time, in June 2014. I had not seen any of Hayao Miyazaki’s other films, nor had I seen any other anime films from the 1980s. This first experience was also a groupwatch, so I had someone with me to explain confusing things and tell me interesting facts about the context of the movie and stuff like that. I was very impressed by Nausicaä, both the movie and the titular character herself. And why shouldn’t I have been? It’s still a very good-looking movie, even though it’s over 30 years old.

While the visuals still hold up to scrutiny, I’m not as excited about the story anymore, for a few different reasons. First of all, I’ve heard that the manga tells a somewhat different and much more complicated story, and secondly, over time I’ve come to appreciate Miyazaki’s character writing more than his main stories. Films like Totoro and Spirited Away are very character-centric, but Nausicaä is heavy on the story. Anyway, that’s just a personal preference, but it does mean that Nausicaä is not on my list of favourite Miyazaki films.

But maybe that’s not too important. It’s just a 2-hour movie, so deciding to rewatch it on a whim should not be too difficult if I ever feel like doing so. And, actually, the manga is only 57 chapters long, so reading it shouldn’t be too much of a time investment either. I should get on that at some point.

Leave a Reply

