Hello again!

Hello!

Again!

And, if this is your first time reading my blog, welcome! I may not be the most prolific writer or the most accomplished wordsmith, but I think I at least have consistent content. I write consistently, too, which is evident from the fact that I have over 3 months worth of blog posts scheduled at this point in time. Maybe I shouldn’t have revealed that, maybe it takes away some of the excitement of anticipating my coming posts (ha ha, as if anyone would actually look forward to my posts), but whatever, it’s April Fool’s, there is no guarantee that anything I’m writing is true.

It happens.

It’s been exactly a year since I started blogging, and this is the post I put out exactly a year ago. Most of you’ve probably already read it, but if you haven’t, give it a read. Just keep in mind that it was April Fool’s a year ago as well. Anyway, that means that today is the first anniversary of this blog, and it also happens to be my birthday! I’m 25 years old today, that’s a quarter of a century. A lot has happened in those 25 years, the most important thing (to me) being the internet, because without it I would not be able to communicate this to you. The internet is not all sunshine and rainbows, though, neither in content nor in the effect it has on people’s lives. I stand firm in the belief that the internet can be used to satisfy most of my social needs, not because I have any good reason to believe so but because I feel like I need it to be true. I’m not good at keeping contact with people in real life, and I would feel really sad if it turned out that that was my only option. I dislike being left with no choices in general.

I think she’s talking to me.

A lot has happened in the past year as well. I’ve started blogging (obviously), I’ve learned how to take photos, and I’ve seen many anime, both new and old. Most importantly, though, I’ve started treatment and psychotherapy for my social anxiety and depression. In itself, that is a very good thing, because it forced me out of a long-lasting passivity. Unfortunately, however, I don’t feel like I’ve made any solid progress. I now know that there’s nothing somatically wrong with me, but that’s about it. I’ve been on medication for 10 months, but it’s only helped with my acute anxiety, not my feelings of worthlessness and hopelessness. In essence, I feel like I’m just fundamentally incompatible with how the world works, and it makes me both sad and angry with (mostly) myself. I hope I can still find a place to call my own, but I can’t see anything like that yet. I’m still very much a work in progress.

I wish love came in microSD format.

As is this blog. My current blog post series has been going on for a while now, but I don’t know if I want to make it my legacy, nor do I know if I want to do something else with the blog. I think I’ll continue doing first impressions and season previews as well as favourite OP/ED posts as long as I have time to do them,  but beyond that I have no solid plans, kind of like how things are with my life in general. On some level, though, I feel like I want to branch out a bit, out of anime-exclusivity and into other areas. Not TV shows, movies or books, most likely (because I’ve found that I don’t enjoy talking about them nearly as much as I like talking about anime), but perhaps photographing and stuff like that. And maybe history, though I’m no professional historian. I just like studying the history of the areas around my home and my country in general.

You tell ’em!

For now, though, my focus will be on anime, and that focus has imminent meaning because today is actually also the day the new anime season starts! Mayoiga premieres today, the 2nd season of Ushio to Tora starts airing today, as does a new season of USAT shows: Uchuu Patrol Luluco and Kagewani: Shou (with the final spot filled by what I assume are reruns of Puchimas). In addition, Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure Part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable (aka Diamond is not Crash) also premieres tonight. I’m not going to watch the show, I need to watch the first 3 parts first, but I’m excited to find out what the ED of the show ends up being. My guess is “September” by Earth, Wind & Fire, but it’s an uneducated and almost completely random guess. In any case, I’m going to be very busy over the coming week or week and a half. And that’s good. Busy is good. Busy makes me feel like less of a failure.

Let’s run!

Another thing that makes me feel better is running and walking. I haven’t been able to do either as often as I’d like lately, partially due to the weather and partially due to me being sick. Now, however, the weather has finally become warm and good enough, and my cold is gone, so I should be able to go running again soon. And hopefully I can stick with it and improve my health again, because I liked being able to run up a few flights of stairs and only feeling mildly exhausted. I also enjoy hiking, but that’s something I do more for the experience of being around nature than for the physical benefits. As soon as the temperature gets close to 20°C, I’m planning on going to a national park that I haven’t been to before and taking a ~4.5 km long route, which should be great fun (and should yield some nice photos hopefully).

Thank You…

…I’ve run out of things to say now, so I guess all that’s left is to extend a heartfelt “Thank You” to all of you who read, read, have read, had read, will read and/or will have read this blog post, any other and/or all other blog posts of mine. Thank you. The fact that you exist makes me feel like I’m not alone, because I know you’re all people. Except for the bots, that is. Bots are welcome to trawl this blog too, but only if they don’t spam (looking at you, spammer who keeps changing IPs to bypass my comment blacklist). Anyway, until next time. Bye!

…and bye!

4 thoughts on “Hello again!

  1. Congrats on one year!
    As someone who has went through picking up the pieces of his life as well, I can only tell you that life goes on and you need to move with it. Yourself is truly the only one you can rely on. So goodluck to you, and more power!

Leave a Reply

