Spring 2016 First Impressions: Part 4

Pan de Peace!

…Because she… knows how to bake bread…?

Ok, so this did indeed turn out to be a short, a 3-minute one, and a pretty generic one at that. Basically it’s just about a bunch of girls who like bread and hugging each other, and that’s about it. The reaction faces are kind of funny in a similar way to last season’s Ooyasan wa Shishunki, but the character designs look kind of jarring and weird at times for some reason. Yuu also sounds kind of weird. I guess I just don’t associate her character design with that kind of voice. There’s not really much more to say about it than that.

Verdict: Cute and short, might as well continue it even though it doesn’t do anything particularly special.

 


Kuma Miko

Surprisingly cute scene.

This is the first show so far this season that I’m very on the fence about after the first episode. On one hand, the show looks pretty decent and I love the background art, and the character designs are very cute. The scenes between Machi (the girl) and Natsu (the bear) are very cute, and some of the comedy between them was funny and adorable. Those are the good things. The bad thing is that a bit into the episode we’re introduced to a young man (25 years old) who, for some reason, tells a story with sexual content to a bunch of 9-year-olds from the village. The story itself is tame, but the fact that the comedy of the scene revolves around the kids getting flustered and shouting about sexual harassment while also joking about whether Machi (who is also a little girl) has had sex with Natsu.

That scene was pretty difficult to watch, because it was even worse than some of the jokes in the later episodes of Gugure Kokkuri-san, which is another show that had unfunny comedy. In the end, Natsu saved the scene by being unfunny (in a good way) and basically ending the spiral of embarrassment. This scene was a large part of the episode and that was a problem for me, but what I’m really worried about is that the show is later going to take away all of the cute and funny scenes and replacing them with more of these… discomforting scenes. I guess I’ll just have to find out.

Verdict: Some of it I liked, some of it I didn’t like. Hoping it gets better, so if it doesn’t, I’ll drop it.

 


 Macross Delta

I give this episode a million thumbs up.

In the preview post I mentioned that I watched the pre-air cut of the first episode back on New Year’s Eve, but what I had forgotten was how much I really liked it. Getting to watch the full episode now was… fantastic, to the point where had I not been dehydrated, I would have actually cried tears. I love the visual style, I love the character designs and I love the character animation. The CG looks sort of bad when it comes to stationary object but in motion it’s fantastic. And the songs, the performances, they’re absolutely amazing both when it comes to the action parts and the idol-esque “concert feel”. And I cannot overstate how much I like the stylistic choices like the fact that Hayate makes mechs dance and Freyja describes voices as having colours. It makes everything feel so much more cool.

When it comes to the story and setting, the show kind of feels like an amalgamation of early Macross (in general feel as well as the theme of using song to counteract aggression) and other Kawamori shows like, especially when it comes to the idol aspect of the Walküre, AKB0048. However, interestingly enough, the part about the Var syndrome being activated by song as well as the “unknown enemies” reminded me of the Marduk in Macross II. The similarities to early Macross (and probably to Macross 7 and F, which I have not seen) makes sense because Delta is supposed to take place in the same general timeline/universe, but I think it’s interesting that I was also reminded of Macross II, because that particular series had little to do with the “main” timeline. Anyway, I’m rambling, mostly because I absolutely loved this first episode. I’m totally going to watch all of it.

Verdict: Best premiere so far, hands down. I greatly look forward to seeing more of it.

Extra picture of Macross Delta because OH MY GOD IT’S SO COOL.

2 thoughts on “Spring 2016 First Impressions: Part 4

  1. I’ve beginning to enjoy Mecha shows more & more, but I also realised that I don’t enjoy watching old animation all too much. At what point can I jump into the Macross franchise without losing anything in terms of viewing pleasure? I tried starting the Gundam franchise, but moving through MSG 0097 has been a slow and even tedious task at times, while I absolutely loved watching the recently ended Gundam: IBO.

    • If you want, you can totally jump into Macross Delta with no prior experience. So far it hasn’t heavily referenced any past works (at least as far as I’ve noticed), and the Deltas and the Walküre are both new terms and systems.

      That said, I would still recommend at least watching Macross: Do You Remember Love?, the recap/remake movie of the original series, because it will explain to you why there are large green aliens in Macross Delta. Which is probably not going to be a huge plot point in Delta, but if you want to avoid any and all confusion, watching the movie might be worth it.

      As for your example, I can actually recommend watching the Gundam 0079 recap/remake movies, starting with this one: http://myanimelist.net/anime/1090/Mobile_Suit_Gundam_I/

      They’re pretty long, but if you really want to watch the conclusion of the 0079 story without having to go through the entire TV show, the movies are a good alternative.

Leave a Reply

