Spring 2016 First Impressions: Part 14

Usakame

This is maybe a 7 on the 1 to Teekyuu scale.

I didn’t think it was possible, but Usakame was actually… disappointing. Sure, like Teekyuu, it has those moments of utter insanity where nothing seems to make sense, but unlike Teekyuu this show spaces those moments out, and executes them more slowly. In between, there are moments of actual dialogue, the kind you would hear in pretty much everything aside from Teekyuu. And these moments kind of dampen the hilarity of it all. The character archetypes are similar to Teekyuu, and they make similar kinds of jokes, but they all just feel less funny in Usakame. If I had to guess, I’d say this is partially due to most of the voice actresses being completely new and not being able to speak as fast as in Teekyuu, but that’s just a guess, and it doesn’t actually matter that much. The bottom line is that I didn’t find it nearly as funny as Teekyuu, but because the episodes are still only 4 minutes long, I’ll keep watching it.

Verdict: Disappointingly less funny than Teekyuu, but it’s a short so I’ll continue.

 


Ok, that’s all for this season, I think. I did plan on writing first reactions for Kuromukuro and Big Order, but because the former got picked up by Netflix and the latter isn’t premiering for several days, I’ll pass on writing about them. See you next season (or maybe sooner if I do mid-season spotlights again)!

Leave a Reply

