Going Down The List: Kyoukai no Rinne (TV)

(MAL LINK)

Kyoukai no Rinne aired from Spring 2015 to the end of Summer 2015, so it’s a quite recent show. And in fact, at the time that this post is published, the second season should have already started airing. But don’t worry, that should in no way affect my opinion of or my thoughts on the series in general, because I expect Season 2 to be basically the exact same as Season 1. You see, Kyoukai no Rinne is not one of those shows that have plot twists, evolving stories or even character development. It’s just an “endless” supernatural school romcom.

The notability of the show, the thing that put it on my radar, comes from the fact that it’s based on a manga by Rumiko Takahashi, who is known for such works as Urusei Yatsura, Maison Ikkoku, Ranma 1/2 and InuYasha. From what I hear, all of these(and Rinne) are fairly similar when it comes to characters and their relationships, but apparently it works because her works are very popular. I can only speak for Rinne, but for me, it’s appeal comes from the fact that it’s simply enjoyable to watch weekly. It’s laid-back, it’s occasionally sweet and often funny, it just somehow works. It’s not a great show, but it’s decent. I’m looking forward to the second season.

 

One thought on “Going Down The List: Kyoukai no Rinne (TV)

  1. I really enjoyed the first season but I’m finding the second season seems to have just stagnated. It hasn’t really added anything and the jokes aren’t quite hitting the mark. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

