Going Down The List: Kyousou Giga (TV)

(MAL LINK)

Like Giant Robo, Kyousougiga makes me feel like I don’t get it. Unlike Giant Robo, though, I really liked Kyousougiga, and I feel like the reason I didn’t like the last 4 episodes as much as the first 6(or 7, if you count episode 00) is just because I fell of the theme/symbolism wagon. It started airing only around 9 months after I’d started watching anime, so I didn’t have much experience with “deeper” kinds of stories, and I’ve never read Alice in Wonderland so I didn’t get those thematic references either. This annoys me a lot, so I’m probably going to eventually rewatch Kyousougiga so I can hopefully write more about it.

But I digress from the future, because now is now and I think I have some things to say in the present. Kyousougiga is a beautiful show. Not just in terms of visual style, composition and quality, but also in how it has the power to evoke strong feelings. In that sense, it’s beautiful to me not in the material way in which I usually use the word but in the subconscious and indescribable, primal way. Part of the reason for this, I feel, is the way the story is paced. Episode 00, which I thoroughly liked (unlike some people, though I understand why they didn’t), sort of gives the gist of what’s going to happen in the next 6 episodes, and episodes 1-6 are, in turn, split between telling the background stories of the characters and advancing the “present/current” storyline. In particular, I loved Koto’s, Yakushimaru’s and Yase’s background stories.

It sort of makes sense, then, that the show “lost me” (so to speak), with episode 7, when the present/current storyline takes over and starts moving into territory unknown to episode 00. To simplify the gist that I got, I think the last arc of the show is about prophecies and how the expectation of prophecies being fulfilled relates to the expectations that parents have of their children, as well as how those expectations and the conditions of their fulfillment change and are warped by the experiences and growth of both parents and children. The fact that, on a more practical level, the show is about gods and priests highlights that conflict between parent and child by drawing parallels to the conflict between god and man. To put it crudely, when a god becomes the parent of an independent human child, most mythologies agree that shit gets problematic. This is what I think Kyousougiga is about. Maybe. I still really do need to watch it again.

Leave a Reply

