Spring 2016 Spotlight: OP and ED of the Season

To my pleasant surprise, the Spring 2016 anime season brought with it a bunch of good OPs and EDs. Granted, none of them will probably rank among my all-time favourites, but many of them are solid and catchy enough to listen to daily, which is actually not that common when it comes to my tastes and preferences. Ushio to Tora and Conrevo return with their own styles of theme songs, and I continue to like them. This time, the EDs of those shows really caught my eye (ear?), but the OPs are good too. Other shows with enjoyable OPs include Haifuri (a new song by TrySail, who wowed me with Cobalt, the OP of Classroom Crisis), Koutetsujou no Kabaneri (EGOIST with lots of drums and bass) and Bakuon (a really upbeat song that is probably my favourite part of the entire show). When it comes to the more subtle stuff, the OP of Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge kinda of feels like it belongs in Silver Spoon, and that’s high praise (at least coming from me). In addition, the ED of Sakamoto desu ga being by SuneoHair means that it’s automatically one of my favourites of the season (I love SuneoHair). My top picks won their respective categories pretty handily, though.

OP of the Season: Kiznaiver

“LAY YOUR HANDS ON ME” by BOOM BOOM SATELLITES

Spring 2016 Spotlight OP

I first heard about Boom Boom Satellites through Ninja Slayer and while their other songs haven’t really caught on with me in the way that Back in Black did, I’ve still generally liked their stuff (after a while I got used to other songs not being as heavy). When I first heard the OP of Kiznaiver, I kind of liked it, but I didn’t pay much attention to it. Over the past few weeks, though, Lay Your Hands On Me has grown on me a whole lot. It’s not just the song, its sound and its lyrics, it’s also the magnificent visuals. The swirling lights give it almost a hypnotic effect, and I find it hard to describe, but I really like it. There’s not a lot of action in the OP, but it stands out through its relative uniqueness.

No other OP really stood any chance this season. I think this, Trigger and Boom Boom Satellites, is like a perfect storm of sorts. It would probably have been near the top of any season, not just this season.


ED of the Season: Macross Delta

“Rune ga Pikatto Hikattara” by Walküre

Spring 2016 Spotlight ED

I already talked about how much I love the music in Macross Delta, but the ED is a whole thing of its own. If I recall correctly, it doesn’t even play until episode 2, so it hit me after ‘d already loved the heck out of Love Halation The War and Ikenai Borderline. The visuals of the ED consist of sketchified live-action footage and a traditionally animated Freyja, who sings the song. The song is this weird kind of funky/pop-y love song with a chorus that reminds me of September by Earth, Wind & Fire of all things.

The visuals that I mentioned are not greatly unique, and while the song kind of is in some ways, I would not emphasise the uniqueness when explaining why I love this ED over all other EDs this season. The reason for that is that it fits the character of Freyja Wion so unbelievably well that when I got to hear and see her sing and dance to it in the show itself in episode 5, it was absolutely special, and that scene may become one of my all-time favourites. All of it just worked! So! Well! That’s why it’s my pick for ED of the Season.

Leave a Reply

