Going Down The List: Love Lab

(MAL LINK)

Unfortunately, Love Lab is one of those shows that I don’t really remember much about. At the time of watching it I wouldn’t have thought it was unfortunate because back then I didn’t really like the show, but since then I’ve seen so many people talk about how much they liked it that I have a feeling that if I were to give it another chance, it could be another show like Kitakubu(i.e. one that I like much more the second time around). I don’t rewatch a lot, but I can see myself giving this show another chance at some point. Side note: Kitakubu and Love Lab coincidentally aired at the same time, in Summer 2013.

And this feeling is only amplified by reading about and looking at screenshots from the show. The memories come flooding back: Maki making weird faces, Riko being Wild, Sayo’s money face. And the lingerie song, oh god the lingerie song! This show really did have a bunch of likeable aspects, didn’t it? Right now I actually can’t remember why I disliked it. Everything I see of it looks funny or enjoyable, and nowadays I generally enjoy shows of that genre. Maybe this is one of these cases where I just watched the show at the wrong time.

This feeling is not just based on hazy memories and funny-looking screenshots, though. At the time of writing this(Winter 2016), there is a currently airing show called Nijiiro Days(Rainbow Days), which I greatly enjoy. It relates to Love Lab in that the only way I’ve been able to describe Nijiiro Days is “sort of a reverse Love Lab”. When examined more thoroughly the similarities aren’t that many, but both shows still have something that interests me: Unusual portrayals of male versus female characters. I’m having a hard time figuring out how to explain what I mean, but I feel like these two shows are much more neutral and casual regarding the interactions between girls and boys than romcoms in general.

P.S: I’m interested in hearing what you thought of Love Lab and/or Nijiiro Days in that respect.

One thought on “Going Down The List: Love Lab

  1. Oooh, I really liked Love Lab! But I remember it took me about 3 or 4 episodes to fall in love with that series, as I wouldn’t watch more if I hadn’t have to write a series preview for a magazine I write for. Mostly because I thought it would be just another Totes Straight High School Lesbians series, like Yuru Yuri, which bored me (but on the contrary, I loved Yuyushiki, huh).
    I can’t really say why I liked it – the art style and the jokes worked for me, just that. The silly expressions and a really good animation, together with a nice voice acting, and Riko changing hairstyles like a real girl were good, too. I never like drama in a comedy series, but they handled the solutions to that really well. The girls and even the boys felt like having actual personalities, instead of those one-two quirks.
    I never tried Nijiro Days, must have missed it since I try every first episode of every new series each season. Especially since all the surnames are of the important Sengoku era historical figures, which is probably just for aesthetics, but I already find this amusing.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

