Summer 2016 Preview Mega Post

Oh dear, we once again have a season where I’m picking up 30 new shows. This is because almost everything looks woefully mediocre to me, so I might as well pick up a bunch of random shows and see if any of them stick. There are a few shows I have high hopes for, but the rest are pretty much completely wild cards.

 


Tuesday

Fukigen na Mononokean

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32696

  • Premiere: June 28
  • Studio: Pierrot Plus
  • Director: Akira Iwanaga (Kingdom 2nd Season, Tegami Bachi)
  • Series Composition: Takao Yoshioka (Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, Zero no Tsukaima)

By the looks of it, this show is going to have pretty boys and supernatural stuff. The latter is not so surprising, but the former feels kind of weird considering the source material is a shounen manga. Based on the PV, the art isn’t going to be fantastic, but it also doesn’t look bad. Story-wise, I hope it ends up being similar to Natsume Yuujinchou. That’s a pretty far-fetched hope, but the ingredients are pretty much all there.

To be honest, though, I don’t expect a whole lot out of it. It looks like the kind of show that could end up becoming a long-runner, in which case I will most likely not bother watching all of it, but even if it’s relatively short, it’s going to have to do real work. The 3 PVs did not really manage to grab me.

Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33222

  • Premiere: July 5
  • Studio: EMT²
  • Director: Toshikatsu Tokoro
  • Series Composition: ?

I didn’t find any PVs for this show so I can’t comment on what it looks like (apart from saying that the promo image looks pretty good to me as far as character designs go). At least it’s aimed at a shoujo demographic (as far as I know), so it probably won’t confuse me as much as Mononokean with its pretty boys aimed at boys. Unfortunately, the only experience I have with the studio in question is Ame-iro Cocoa, which was an absolutely abysmal show. I hope this will be better.

Because unlike with Mononokean, I actually want this show to be good and/or enjoyable. Not only are there fudanshi (and fujoshi, for that matter) characters, one of the characters is apparently openly gay, and I really want to see a tasteful story around that subject matter. So, my expectations for the show are so-so (somewhat negative due to the studio), but my hopes are high.

Cheer Danshi!!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32483

  • Premiere: July 5
  • Studio: Brain’s Base
  • Director: Ai Yoshimura (OreGairu, Ao Haru Ride)
  • Series Composition: Reiko Yoshida (K-On, Aria the Animation)

Is there some kind of conspiracy regarding pretty boy shows premiering on Tuesday this season? Because this is definitely another one of them. And, by the looks of it, it’s probably going to be the best-looking one. It’s got a high-profile series composer as well, and the director is certainly not a newbie.

That excites me, because I really liked Free (which this reminds me of the most). Unfortunately, I’m not so hot on the story. Sure, it’s nice that it’s set in university instead of high school, but in the end it’s yet another “school club” anime, which is no longer enough for me (it’s why I ended up dropping Prince of Stride). I hope it can differentiate itself in some way, but I’m not expecting much.

Servamp

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31229

  • Premiere: July 5
  • Studio: Brain’s Base
  • Director: Hideaki Nakano (Aoharu x Kikanjuu)
  • Series Composition: Kenji Konuta (Aoharu x Kikanjuu, Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou)

The more I look at this show’s promo images and PVs, the more it reminds me of the existence of Blood Lad, and not just because this show has the same series composer and studio (not that I have anything against Brain’s Base in general). It’s not that the story is similar either, because it isn’t, but that’s just the feeling I get.

And it’s not a very good thing, because I despised Blood Lad. However, that also means that Servamp can only go up in my eyes. The story, for instance, doesn’t sound like it’ll be terribly interesting, but it does sound better than Blood Lad. And, I must admit, I’m not very opposed to stories about vampires. There have even been some relatively good vampire shows lately (such as Owari no Seraph). Maybe this will exceed my expectations.

Scared Rider Xechs

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33113

  • Premiere: July 5
  • Studio: Satelight
  • Director: Hideto Komori (Hayate no Gotoku! Heaven is a Place on Earth)
  • Series Composition: Naruki Nagakawa

Another show with pretty boys! This time, it’s apparently because the source material is an otome game. And based on the PV I can say that I like its visual style and the character designs. The staff don’t seem to be extremely experienced, but I have some amount of faith in Satelight as far as the animation goes, at the very least.

The weirdest thing about this show is the story as described in the synopsis on MAL. There’s apparently a blue world and a red world which symbolise different things, and I think there might be mechs. Now, cryptic plot elements and mechs in themselves are not particularly noteworthy, but in my experience it’s quite unusual to see a story like this primarily aimed at women. To be honest, this surprising demographic is the only reason I’m excited for this show. In every other aspect it looks pretty average. I guess I’ll just have to see how it turns out.

 


Wednesday

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 3rei!!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31706

  • Premiere: July 6
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Director: Shin Oonuma (Ef: A Tale of Memories, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia)
  • Series Composition: Kenji Inoue

Ah, the first sequel so far. There’s not a lot of speculation needed as far as staff and studio go, because this show will be done by the same people who did the first 3 seasons. Though that’s not to say that the studio and staff are “just good enough”. I loved the visuals and animation of the previous seasons, so this is probably going to be one of my favourites of the season as far as action goes.

Story-wise, I’m not quite as certain about how I’ll feel. The overarching story so far has been pretty interesting (in my opinion, more interesting than the story of Unlimited Blade Works, for instance), but I’m not really sure where it’s going. I’ve heard good things about the story of 3rei, though, so that’s an encouraging sign.

Tsukiuta. The Animation

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33037

  • Premiere: July 6
  • Studio: Studio Pierrot
  • Director: Itsurou Kawasaki (Arc the Lad, Bakumatsu Rock)
  • Script: Sayaka Harada (Starmyu, Tamayura: More Aggressive)

It’s. Another. Pretty. Boy. Show. With music this time, because why not. On one hand, I feel like this season is going to be pretty over-saturated when it comes to bishounen shows, but on the other hand, last year’s Starmyu was very enjoyable in my opinion, so this might work. It even has (at least) one of Starmyu’s scriptwriters!

That said, the part in the synopsis that says “Each episode will feature a different main character” worries me. I’m worried that none of the characters will have a chance to develop properly, and at the very least I expect that I won’t be able to get emotionally attached to any of them. It also makes it sound like the show is going to have short episodes, which may end up making the show completely forgettable (on the other hand it might make it more easily digestible, but it’s a gamble).

Mahou Shoujo? Naria☆Girls

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33394

  • Premiere: July 6
  • Studio: Bouncy
  • Director: Koutarou Ishidate (Tesagure! Bukatsumono)
  • Series Composition: Koutarou Ishidate (gdgd Fairies, Tesagure! Bukatsumono)

I have no idea who or what the studio “Bouncy” is, but I am familiar with the past works of the creators. Neither gdgd Fairies nor Tesagure Bukatsumono were completely “my thing”, but I did appreciate some of their jokes. Both shows have this kind of “radio show” atmosphere to them, and the jokes are heavily tied to pop culture references, self-references and meta humour in general. And this show seems like it’s going to be doing the exact same thing.

But I’m willing to give it a try, even though I probably won’t love it. The magical girl “twist” sounds alright, and I’m expecting it to be 3DCG (like its “predecessors”) so the visuals probably won’t bother me either. And, to be honest, I would prefer it if it didn’t try to have too much of a story, because that was my least favourite element of Nurse Witch Komugi-chan R.

 


Thursday

Kono Bijutsubu ni wa Mondai ga Aru!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31952

  • Premiere: July 7
  • Studio: feel
  • Director: Kei Oikawa (OreGairu Zoku, Minami-ke: Okaeri)
  • Series Composition: Naruhisa Arakawa (Yosuga no Sora, Active Raid)

…It’s another show about a school club. In this case, however, that’s probably a good thing. Based on the PV it looks sweet and cute and possibly funny. Feel are a pretty familiar studio to me, and I’m sure they can deliver on the visual end when it comes to comedy. I am, however, worried about the director. I didn’t really feel OreGairu S2, and I pretty much hated Minami-ke Okaeri.

But I’m not gonna get too hung up on that, because I actually want this show to be good. There’s a surprising lack of cute shows this season as far as I can see, it’s all pretty boys this time, so this is one of the few hopes I have to satisfy the craving for cuteness.

Battery

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32947

  • Premiere: July 14
  • Studio: Zero-G
  • Director: Tomomi Mochizuki (Pupa, House of Five Leaves)
  • Series Composition: ?

A baseball show with original characters by Takako Shimura? Yes, please! I’m not very familiar with the director, and the studio seems to be completely new and/or inexperienced (or maybe just uncredited), but the PVs looked good. And as I already stated, I’m very excited about the character designs.

Technical stuff aside, I’m wondering about the story. Because if I’m to pay attention to a show about baseball, a sport I’m not greatly interested in, I need a good story. Cross Game had a good story, one that made me enjoy all 50 or so episodes of it. If Battery ends up being that long, it’s going to have to be very well-written. If it ends up being very short, however, I’m worried that the ending won’t be satisfying enough. I’m somewhat excited about this show, but I’m uncertain when it comes to setting expectations.

 


Friday

Berserk (2016)

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32379

  • Premiere: July 1
  • Studio: Millepensee, GEMBA
  • Director: Shin Itagaki (Teekyuu, Ben-To)
  • Series Composition: Takashi Yamashita

I’ve been interested in Berserk for a long time, but I’ve never found the motivation to either watch the old anime or read the manga. But now, I have this show, and it looks like a decent starting point. Watching the PVs gave me a glimpse of what the story will be like, and I really liked what I saw.

But there’s still a huge elephant in the room: The fact that this is a CG anime. And not just that, it’s directed by the guy who did Teekyuu and very little else. The studios involved are not known for doing anything great-looking either, so I’m unfortunately not very hopeful. The silver lining, I guess, is that the shading and Guts’ face looked pretty good in the PVs, but some of the enemies looked really, really bad, so it’s not a very comforting silver lining. We’ll see how enjoyable this ends up being, but I’m honestly expecting to be disappointed.

Momokuri (TV)

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33437

  • Premiere: July 1
  • Studio: Satelight
  • Director: Yoshimasa Hiraike (Amagami SS, Gugure! Kokkuri-san)
  • Series Composition: Yoshimasa Hiraike (Amagami SS)

So, apparently this is not a new show at all, but a TV rebroadcast of an ONA series that aired around Winter 2016. Based on the PVs, it’s not much of a looker when it comes to art and animation, but considering it’s a slice of life romcom, that’s not the most important thing in the world.

The story seems to be pretty simple: Boy character and girl character are dating, and presumably get into tricky situations. Not the most captivating of premises, but it is not every day you see a show where the characters are actually dating, and the PVs made it seem sweet and funny, so I’m hopeful. It should at the very least be a relaxing show.

ReLIFE

http://myanimelist.net/anime/30015

  • Premiere: July 1
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Director: Satoru Kosaka
  • Series Composition: Michiko Yokote (Genshiken, Shirobako)

I desperately want to say that this is going to be a trashy and/or generic kind of romcom with a high school setting, like so many other shows before it, but I can’t do that. And not just because the series composer is Michiko Yokote, who has worked on some really good stuff in the past. The PVs just kind of… clicked with me.

Maybe it’s because the “twist” of this series is such an interestingly relatable one: The 27-year-old main character, who is unemployed, gets the chance to change his appearance into that of a 17-year-old so he can go back to high school. I am not going to lie, I’d kind of like to try that, and I’ve actually fantasised about being able to do it. So yeah, I really want to see this show. And fortunately, there’s nothing about the production that worries me. I’m just hopeful and optimistic.

Amanchu!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31771

  • Premiere: July 8
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Director: Junichi Satou (Aria the Animation, Princess Tutu)
  • Series Composition: Hitomi Mieno (Arakawa Under the Bridge, Flying Witch)

I had the biggest smile on my face all the way through the two PVs. Yeah, this is surely an adaptation of a Kozue Amano manga, and it’s just as surely directed by Junichi Satou. I’m a huge fan of Aria, and I’m extremely glad to see Amanchu get an adaptation so soon after I finished Aria (a little over a year ago). I have not read the manga, but I’ve heard great things about it, so I’m greatly looking forward to this.

But even if it wasn’t based on a manga by Kozue Amano or directed by Satou, I would have been interested in Amanchu’s story, because it’s about scuba diving, and that’s something I haven’t seen in anime or manga before. I look forward not only to having an Aria-like experience, but also to seeing some completely new stuff. This is probably going to be one of my favourites of the season.

91 Days

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32998

  • Premiere: July 8
  • Studio: Shuka
  • Director: Hiro Kaburaki (Hoozuki no Reitetsu, Kimi ni Todoke)
  • Series Composition: Taku Kishimoto (Gin no Saji, Usagi Drop)

For the third season in a row, we get a historical drama. Nice. Ok, well, 91 Days is probably not going to be as focused on the history as Rakugo and Joker Game were, but I’d say it still qualifies to some extent. Based on the PVs it looks like I’m going to enjoy its visual style, as expected from the studio behind Durarara.

The story takes place in 1920 in the US. That part interests me, but the story about the character joining the mafia to find the people who killed his parents sounds kind of so-so to me. It could be exciting, but it could also be something like Gangsta, so whether it’s a good story remains to be seen. I’m cautiously optimistic.

 


Saturday

Shokugeki no Souma: Ni no Sara

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32282

  • Premiere: July 2
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Director: Yoshitomo Yonetani (Yuusha-Ou GaoGaiGar)
  • Series Composition: Shogo Yasukawa (Terra Formars, Rokujouma no Shinryakusha)

Another sequel, and once again something I’m really excited for. Same staff as before, and presumably picking up where the first season left off, so there shouldn’t be any big difference in visuals or pacing. And I’ve read quite a bit of the manga past the point where the first anime season ended, so I don’t even have to wonder about the story!

And for the most part, the story is good. The first season ended in the middle of an arc, the conclusion of which is pretty fun. And the next few arcs after that are great as well. Much later on, the story starts getting a bit boring, but I’m not even sure if this 2nd season will get that far in the story, so it’s not an immediate concern. So yeah, I’m very optimistically expecting this to be just as solid as the first season.

Love Live! Sunshine!!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32526

  • Premiere: July 2
  • Studio: Sunrise
  • Director: Kazuo Sakai (Mushi-Uta)
  • Series Composition: Jukki Hanada (Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai, Love Live! School Idol Project)

This may look like a sequel, but it’s not. Same studio, somewhat similar character designs and a similar story to the original series, but in a different setting. Which… is actually not very important, because setting isn’t the main point of idol shows anyway, at least not usually.

The selling point will most likely be the characters’ personalities, because if the performances are CG again, they will probably not be the best-looking thing about the show. Fortunately, based on the PV and some promo and fan art, I’m already a great fan of You and Yohane, so I’m probably going to love, or at least like, this show.

Hatsukoi Monster

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31109

  • Premiere: July 2
  • Studio: Studio Deen
  • Director: Takayuki Inagaki (Seiken Tsukai no World Break, Kuusen Madoushi Kouhousei no Kyoukan)
  • Series Composition: Hiroko Kanasugi (Diabolik Lovers More Blood, NouCome)

Oh look, more pretty boys! Not so surprising in this case, considering it’s based on a shoujo manga. Studio Deen have been very solid with their animation recently, so the show will probably be visually appealing, but it proved difficult to find any information about the series composition and script, so I can’t really guess as to how the story and characters are going to behave.

And for this show, I think the way the characters behave is going to be very important, because the story is so absurd: A high school girl falls in love with a boy who turns out to be in elementary school. Were it the other way around, I’d probably find the show too creepy to even try, but I must admit that I am morbidly curious about this show, because the boy does in no way look like he’s in 5th grade. I’m not going to be able to believe this show until I see it for myself.

B-Project: Kodou*Ambitious

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33046

  • Premiere: July 2
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Director: Eiji Suganuma (Sasameki Koto, Karneval)
  • Series Composition: Hitomi Mieno (Arakawa Under the Bridge, Flying Witch)

So, this seems to be a show about a girl who becomes the manager of a bunch of idols. Yes, they’re pretty boys, but I’m getting really tired of talking about pretty boys, so I’m just going to forget about that aspect for a moment. The synopsis makes the show sound exactly like Sekkou Boys, except that the boys in this show are regular, not made of gypsum.

I’m a big fan of Hitomi Mieno, so I’m excited to see what the story and characters are going to be like. It also seems that the director has prior experience with shows aimed at women, which I assume this is too, so that’s good. As for A-1 Pictures doing the animation, well, it probably won’t look terrible, but I doubt I’ll be wowed by the visuals either.

Days

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32494

  • Premiere: July 2
  • Studio: MAPPA
  • Director: Kounosuke Uda (One Piece, Ginga e Kickoff!)
  • Series Composition: Kounosuke Uda

Oh thank god, it’s a show about a sport that is somewhat uncommon in anime, so I can talk about that instead of the fact that the characters are, yet again, pretty boys. Days is a show about football (aka soccer), and it’s directed by a director who has directed a football show in the past, so I have faith that he’ll be able to make the most of the sport.

The animation is handled by MAPPA, who I know can make some great-looking stuff. And based on the CM, it looks like it’s going to be a visually appealing show. The dribbling in particular looked really good. So yeah, I’m now really looking forward to this show.

Rewrite

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31716

  • Premiere: July 2
  • Studio: 8bit
  • Director: Motoki Tanaka (Grisaia no Kajitsu, Kiniro Mosaic)
  • Series Composition: Motoki Tanaka, Romeo Tanaka

Yay, it’s another show based on a Visual Novel by Key. That “yay” was only half-sarcastic, by the way, because I always end up enjoying these shows at least to some extent. This one isn’t written by Jun Maeda, however, so I don’t know exactly what to expect. Fortunately, Maeda will still work on the music, so I’m pretty sure I’ll end up liking at least that aspect of it.

As for the story, I actually know pretty much nothing about Rewrite, except for the fact that Romeo Tanaka co-wrote the scenario. And considering I loved Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita and liked AURA, I’m excited to see what Tanaka comes up with. I feel a little sad about the fact that the animation will be handled by 8bit and not KyoAni, but that’s the reality of it, so I guess I just have to live with it.

Hitori no Shita: The Outcast

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33421

  • Premiere: July 9
  • Studio: Pandanium × NAMU Animation
  • Director: Wang Xin
  • Series Composition: ?

To be honest, I picked this show up mostly because I noticed that its production was unusual. In particular, I was interested by the fact that it’s a Chinese-Japanese production, not an all-Japanese one. This also meant that it was more difficult than usually to find any information about the studios or the director. I recognise none of them, so I can’t comment on the production or staff at all.

What I can say, however, is that I liked the PV. The action looked good, and I especially adored the music. I’m still not really sure what the story is going to be about (the synopsis is pretty cryptic), but I’ll take an action show if I can get one in the midst of this sea of pretty boy shows.

Qualidea Code

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32360

  • Premiere: July 9
  • Studio: A-1 Pictures
  • Director: Kenichi Kawamura (Super Sonico The Animation)
  • Series Composition: ?

Oh hey, it’s one of those shows about kids who have superpowers and fight against supernatural enemies in a sci-fi/fantasy setting. We had quite a few of those last season, but so far this season I haven’t seen or picked up many, so I’ll try this one just for the hell of it.

As it usually is with these kinds of shows, the specifics of the story don’t really matter, because they’re just random proper nouns. However, on the staff side there are some good things and some bad things. The director hasn’t impressed me in the past, but the writing is original, and it’s done by Wataru Watari, who is probably most well known for writing OreGairu. The animation is by A-1, so it probably won’t be spectacular, but I imagine they’ll do a decent job. I wouldn’t say I look forward to this show, but I want to be cautiously optimistic.

Ange Vierge

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32171

  • Premiere: July 9
  • Studio: Silver Link
  • Director: Masafumi Tamura
  • Series Composition: Katsuhiko Takayama (Aldnoah.Zero, Mirai Nikki)

Cute girls playing card games in a sci-fi/fantasy world, animated by Silver Link? Sure, I’ll take it. Were it based on a light novel instead of a card game, I honestly probably wouldn’t have picked it up, but this doesn’t seem too objectionable. I am a bit worried about the series composition being done by the person behind Mirai Nikki, Aldnoah.Zero and Big Order, but who knows, maybe I’ll be able to enjoy one of his shows this time.

The synopsis from ANN is very short, but the thing about powers awakening in girls and an academy being built for them makes me think about Symphogear for the most part. Sure, the card game aspect makes Wixoss the most obvious point of comparison, but some of the stuff in the PVs actually also reminded me of Symphogear, so there might actually be something there. Or, rather, I’m hoping there is something there, because I love Symphogear.

 


Sunday

Arslan Senki: Fuujin Ranbu

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31821

  • Premiere: July 3
  • Studio: Liden Films
  • Director: Noriyuki Abe (Great Teacher Onizuka, Yu Yu Hakusho)
  • Series Composition: Makoto Uezu (Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, Katanagatari)

Another sequel, so I don’t have much to say. Well, beside the fact that I wish that they’ll do a better job with the horseback combat and horses in general. This sequel is a bit unusual, because it’s only 8 episodes long. Why that is, I have no idea, but I hope it’s enough time to finish a story.

Because story is basically the main reason I watch this show. I do love some of the characters, but it’s such a story-driven show that I really do want to see what happens next, and watching characters be good and funny is not enough. Fortunately, I didn’t think the first season was particularly badly paced or anything, so I have no reason to think this will be either. But as I said, I just hope 8 episodes is enough to tell whatever story they’re going to tell.

Orange

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32729

  • Premiere: July 3
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Director: Hiroshi Hamasaki (Steins;Gate, Texhnolyze)
  • Series Composition: ?

From the director of Steins;Gate comes… another time travel anime? That actually sounds really cool, and based on the PVs it’s going to look and sound pretty good as well. And it’s based on a shoujo manga, which is very interesting considering the sci-fi element. The only thing I’m honestly worried about is the animation by TMS Entertainment. I hope they can keep the quality consistent (because the PVs looked very good).

The specifics of the time travel element are interesting: The main character, Naho, receives a letter from herself from 10 years in the future, in which she states that she wants to change the past. That’s interesting enough in itself, but there’s also something about a character dying within those 10 years, and that death is supposedly preventable by the past Naho. To be honest, my first thought was about ERASED (Boku Dake ga Inai Machi) and that I want this show not to turn into that kind of murder mystery. I remain hopeful, however, because this is one of the few shows that actually really interest me this season.

 


Monday

Saiki Kusuo no Ψ Nan

http://myanimelist.net/anime/33255

  • Premiere: July 4
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Director: Hiroaki Sakurai (Cromartie High School)
  • Series Composition: Michiko Yokote (Genshiken, Shirobako)

This is apparently a weird supernatural/sci-fi show that airs at 7 in the morning. This… doesn’t really make sense to me, but it’s animated by J.C.Staff, written by Michiko Yokote and directed by the director of Cromartie High School, so I think I need to take this seriously.

Unfortunately, the PV is unavailable in my region so I can’t take a look at what the show looks like, but I hope it ends up being as colourful as the promo art. As for the story, the main character apparently has lots of powers but he finds it more bothersome than awesome. These kinds of stories about drawbacks of powers and stuff like that are not very uncommon, but I wouldn’t say I’m tired of them, so I honestly kind of look forward to seeing this show. It looks like it could be fun.

New Game!

http://myanimelist.net/anime/31953

  • Premiere: July 4
  • Studio: Doga Kobo
  • Director: Yoshiyuki Fujiwara (GJ-bu, Mikakunin de Shinkoukei)
  • Series Composition: Fumihiko Shimo (Amagi Brilliant Park, Mikakunin de Shinkoukei)

At first glance, I thought this was going to be a trashy Light Novel adaptation, mainly because of the character designs. However, when I looked further into it (read: people on twitter kept saying that New Game is going to be worth trying and so I sheepishly picked it up), I realised that it has a number of elements I’m very fond of.

It’s based on a 4-koma manga, meaning it’ll probably be a sketch-based comedy, which I like. It’s also directed and written by the people behind Mikakunin de Shinkoukei, a show from 2014 that I absolutely adored. And, possibly most importantly, it’s animated by Doga Kobo, for whom I have a great amount of respect nowadays. The story being about a girl who joins a game company is maybe not my favourite thing ever, but if the characters are strong enough, that shouldn’t matter. I really look forward to this show.

Amaama to Inazuma

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32828

  • Premiere: July 4
  • Studio: TMS Entertainment
  • Director: Tarou Iwasaki (Isshuukan Friends)
  • Series Composition: Mitsutaka Hirota (Bakumatsu Rock, New Prince of Tennis)

Amaama to Inazuma, aka Sweetness and Lightning, looks like it’s going to be my feel-good show of the season. I’m not so sure about the series composer, but the director having directed Isshuukan Friends is something I will take as a good sign. To be honest, I’m not so interested in the specifics of the show, I just want sweetness, and maybe some lightning.

I don’t know very much about the story, but I do know that the manga was somewhat popular in my twitter circle a while back, because I recognise the girl with the sandwich in the promo image. It’s apparently about people cooking and eating, both of which I am a fan of, so I’m pretty excited. Also, the girl is played by Rina Endou, who voiced Hina in Barakamon, so that’s another great thing about this show.

Taboo Tattoo

http://myanimelist.net/anime/29758

  • Premiere: July 4
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Director: Takashi Watanabe (Boogiepop wa Warawanai: Boogiepop Phantom, Heavy Object)
  • Series Composition: Mayori Sekijima (Tsukuyomi: Moon Phase, Kaze no Stigma), Masamitsu Ootake

Oh phew, another one of these shows where schoolchildren use superpowers to fight each other, featuring random proper nouns, I was afraid something was wrong with this season when I couldn’t find any shows like this. Sarcasm aside, the PV actually looked really cool, particularly the action parts.

Being a manga adaptation and not an LN adaptation makes me hope that the story actually ends up being good, but it’s too early to tell, and there have been many similar manga adaptations that I haven’t liked, so it may not be worth it to speculate. The gimmick behind the superpowers being tattoos is not a particularly original or interesting idea in my opinion, but I don’t think it’s bad either. In conclusion, the PV looked good, but I’m not expecting too much at this point, at least not yet.

Mob Psycho 100

http://myanimelist.net/anime/32182

  • Premiere: July 11
  • Studio: Bones
  • Director: Yuzuru Tachikawa (Death Billiards, Death Parade)
  • Series Composition: Hiroshi Seko (Owari no Seraph)

Mob Psycho 100 is based on a manga by ONE, the author who is most likely best known for being the original writer and artist of One Punch Man (which was later redrawn by Yusuke Murata). The main reason I’m excited for Mob Psycho is that the One Punch Man anime was based on Murata’s versions of the character designs, not ONE’s, and I feel like that may have interfered with ONE’s style.

Ok, that’s pure speculation on my part, but still, I’m extremely interested in seeing something else created by ONE, and I imagine this anime will probably look more like the original manga than One Punch Man did. Also, I mean, the PV looks amazingly stylish and colourful (both literally and figuratively), so I have a feeling this will be a spectacle that I can greatly enjoy. It’s the last anime in this preview post, but it’s probably the one I’m looking forward to the most

 


Well, that was a lot of anime with pretty boys in them. Seriously, is there a conspiracy or something, or is this just coincidence? Well, in any case, I hope at least some of them end up being good, because otherwise I will have very little to watch. Actually, that might not be a bad thing. It would be nice to have some time to work on my backlog.

One thought on “Summer 2016 Preview Mega Post

  1. Taboo Tattoo, I did read some of the manga, I stopped so I would not get spoiled, only around 10 chapters I read. It is pretty good and stays away from it being teenager superpower fights or just any high school stuff. Plus the main girl is nice, but I won’t say more than that.

Leave a Reply

