Summer 2016 First Impressions: Part 2

Momokuri

Summer 2016 Momokuri

Kurihara is extremely cute.

This show did end up getting a good release, so I decided to watch it and write about it. And I’m glad I did, because I loved the first episode (or, rather, episode 1+2, their combined length being 24 minutes). It’s not really a show with an interesting story or interesting characters, none of that actually matters, but it’s a very very cute show. And while the story and characters may be pretty basic, the storytelling is very quick. This means that in the very first scene, the girl confesses to the boy, and the rest of the episode is spent on them being cute together and/or talking about each other with their respective friends. No “will they, won’t they”, no long internal monologues before something happens, nothing like that. Just constant cuteness and occasional jokes.

And part of why I think this focus on cuteness alone works is the visual style. The character designs and art aren’t highly detailed or outstanding in any way, but the faces are cute and the visual effects (bright colours with patterns for backgrounds, etc.) are very pleasant to look at as well. It kind of reminds me of shows like Hidamari Sketch in that sense, actually. And that’s a very good thing, in my opinion.

In spite of the fact that I like the concept of the show, however, I couldn’t help but lose focus at times while watching it. I don’t mind that if it happens occasionally, because sometimes I prefer to have a show on in the background while doing other stuff, and I think that’s ok. But if it becomes the kind of problem where I start an episode of Momokuri and stop paying attention after a minute or so, and especially if that happens every time, then I might not bother with finishing the show. But that would make me sad, so I’m hoping it doesn’t happen.

Verdict: Very cute, so I’ll be continuing it for now, but it was also a little bit boring.

Leave a Reply

