Going Down The List: Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu

(MAL LINK)

I had nearly forgotten that this show even existed. That probably goes to show just how memorable this spin-off really was. No, I exaggerate. The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan was not a terribly forgettable show. I actually quite liked it. At its worst it had drawn-out jokes and decently funny faces, and at its best it evoked memories of the Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya.

Sadly, though, I’m having a hard time remembering any details about the show itself. I guess most of it consisted of a not-so-great back-and-forth will-they-wont-they romance between Nagato and Kyon, which was… not the most interesting romance in anime. There were also a few Haruhi-centric episodes, which I found annoying. Some other people found Haruhi the least bad part of the show, which I understand (if you happen to dislike the fact that Kyon and Nagato are different in this show, Haruhi is pretty much the last likeable thing left), but I personally didn’t care for her in the context of this show.

The most memorable thing about the show was Nagato’s traumatic personality change, which was basically the closest the show came to being like the Disappearance movie. Though I guess it’s kind of unfortunate that the show had to abandon its comedy and change one character entirely in order to become interesting. Or maybe I just wanted a different show. Well, in any case, I think the Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan was a decent show because while it wasn’t everything I wanted all of the time, at least it gave me something that I wanted.

Leave a Reply

