Summer 2016 First Impressions: Part 7

Amaama to Inazuma

Summer 2016 Amaama to Inazuma

It doesn’t get much cuter than this.

Lately, I feel like more and more manga and shows have tried to do realistic depictions of young children. At the top of my head I can only think of Usagi Drop and Barakamon, but I know there are other works as well. Amaama to Inazuma continues this trend, and it does so very convincingly. Not only is Tsumugi’s voice actress actually quite young (she previously voiced Hina in Barakamon), the character animation of Tsumugi actually feels very authentic (which I’m sure makes the animators’ jobs more difficult). Barakamon wasn’t bad at character animation either, but I feel like this show goes even further to show just how restlessly active children can be. Tsumugi was definitely the highlight of the first episode.

Not that the non-Tsumugi elements were bad, though. I like the story about a busy widower dad being unable to spend a lot of time with his young daughter, because it was introduced in a modest and down-to-earth kind of manner instead of being overly sappy (which I honestly expected it to be). I also think the dad is a good character in his own right. Or, rather, I like him. He’s clearly very stressed and busy, but he puts his daughter above everything else, and I really enjoy following characters like that (unlike parent characters who decide to take their frustration out on their children). I also already like Kotori, and I’m looking forward to seeing her character get established and introduced in presumably the next few episodes.

Visually, the show is good. Not the most fantastic thing I’ve ever seen, but more than serviceable. Tsumugi’s character design and faces in particular stand out in a very good way, though I think her hair is maybe a little bit too exaggerated. I can live with that, though, because as a whole the show is just. So. Cute!

Verdict: Extremely cute, which is exactly what I wanted out of it. Definitely picked up.

 


 Taboo Tattoo

Summer 2016 Taboo Tattoo

The action was animated really well.

First off, this show reminded me of two shows from last season: Sousei no Onmyouji and Bungou Stray Dogs. At first, I didn’t make the comparisons in favour of Taboo Tattoo. No, I felt like it tried to hook me in with funny faces just like Sousei no Onmyouji, but it failed at that. The rest of its humour as well as the superpower system reminded me of Bungou Stray Dogs, but again I felt like Taboo Tattoo just tried to do all the same things, but without successful execution. By the end of the episode I’d come to think that the show might really be able to pull off the humour it was going for, but had my impression been totally negative throughout the earlier parts of the episode, I probably would’ve made up my mind and dropped it after a few minutes.

Fortunately, however, the show did do some things very well all the way from the beginning: For one, I liked the art style, though the character designs were (and still are) nothing special. The other good thing was the animation. The first episode actually had a couple of action scenes, and they both looked great. Great enough to make me want to watch the show, regardless of how the humour ended up being. In the end it all worked out, but the action was the first real hook for me.

Other than that, I found the characters extremely amusing. Not so much the main character, who embodies most of the clichés characteristic of LN protagonists. This is something I’m not a fan of, but fortunately it’s made a little bit better by the fact that his first name is literally “Justice”. And the other character names are even better. The other main character is called Bluesy Fluesy, but she’s also known as Izzie and, apparently, “Monday Rabbit”. She’s also associated with the awesomely named Tom Shredfield, who is wonderfully enough voiced by Tomokazu Sugita. So yeah, this might not be my kind of show in general, but some of the individual elements are hilarious enough to make it worth watching for me.

Verdict: Usually wouldn’t be my kind of show, but it’s funny enough to pass for now. Continuing.

Leave a Reply

