Going Down The List: Nagi no Asukara

(MAL LINK)

Nagi no Asukara was in many ways a rollercoaster of a show. It was most definitely not a static show, and I experienced a breadth of emotions while watching it, some good, some bad. Had I marathoned the show it would probably not have had the same effect, but alas, I watched it at the pace of one episode a week while it aired. And I’m glad I did, because while I did dislike the show at times, the aforementioned rollercoaster experience made it enjoyable regardless.

The bad feelings were most apparent in the beginning and at the end of the show. My first impression was not good, mostly due to the fact that I initially despised Hikari, and I found Manaka to be a terrible heroine. Over time, when the other characters like Kaname, Tsumugu and Miuna started getting more screen time, my feelings for the show warmed a bit, but the final arc kind of brought it all down again. To be specific, I hated the exposition in the final episode, and while the post-credits epilogue scene was great, the ending left a sour taste in my mouth.

Sometimes, though, the journey is more important than the destination, at least in my opinion. And fortunately for the show, that is how I choose to remember Nagi no Asukara. The character drama in the middle, the story surrounding the time skip, the time skip itself, Tsumugu and Chisaki, Miuna and Sayu, with all of that it’s definitely not the worst drama anime I’ve seen. And, naturally, it looked absolutely gorgeous most of the time. If not for anything else, then the show deserves to be watched just for the sake of experiencing it visually (as is the case with many P.A.Works shows).

Leave a Reply

