Going Down The List: Oniichan no Koto Nanka Zenzen Suki Janain Dakara ne

(MAL LINK)

Last time I wrote about how I accidentally stumbled upon OniAi and ended up kind of enjoying it by the end. Well, this show – for which I don’t know any good abbreviations – was not an accident or a mistake, at least on my part. I picked it up and watched it very deliberately, the reason being that its title sounded similar to that of OniAi. In retrospect, the tones of the two titles are very different, but I didn’t know that at the time.

GDTL Oniichan no Koto etc 1

Actually, I would like to pin the entire experience of watching the show on the newbie ignorance I possessed (or “was possessed by”, depending on how you look at it) back then. Oniichan no Koto Nanka blah blah etc etc is not a very good show, nor does it have any interesting characters or an interesting story, and it looks kind of bad. I actually remember very little about it, except for the fact that the final line of the series is a title drop. I guess I need to give that moment credit for being memorable, but other than that it was your average completely non-conclusive abrupt ending scene, so it kind of evens out.

GDTL Oniichan no Koto etc 2

The show does have some redeemable aspects, though. Considering the fact that I really dislike the art style and quality as well as the character designs, Nao (the main heroine) is still pretty cute. Initially I absolutely hated her jug ears, but now I actually think they’re kind of a charm point. Unfortunately, the cuteness of Nao is overshadowed by the absolutely abysmal Shuusuke (the main character). He’s not just bland or average or generic in terms of his character design, he actually looks so bad that it’s difficult to look at him. It’s like looking at the death of aesthetics. And that’s probably the worst offense of the show, beside all the bad story and shitty humour.

Leave a Reply

