Going Down The List: Ookami to Koushinryou

(MAL LINK)

It’s been a very long time since I watched Spice and Wolf. Too long, I think. This is not like one of the cases I’ve written about before where I feel like I was too inexperienced to really appreciate the show. No, I appreciated Spice and Wolf, and not just because of the economics stuff. I really liked Holo’s relationship with Lawrence, despite the fact that I thought Holo was a bit of an asshole at first. My least favourite parts were definitely the longer storylines (because I didn’t feel like they were up to par with the shorter, episodic stories), but I still thought they were quite interesting.

GDTL Ookami to Koushinryou 1

The reason I feel like I should watch Spice and Wolf again is simply that I want to re-experience it. Lately, certain anime have made me think about Spice and Wolf, usually fondly. Hai to Gensou no Grimgar made me remember the medieval world of Spice and Wolf and how much I liked it. Re:Zero did the same, but it also reminded me of something more specific: Spice and Wolf evokes in me strong feelings of playing MMOs, much more so than anime that are specifically about MMOs (like Log Horizon, etc). This is probably because the worlds in most MMOs I’ve played are the same kind of medieval world, and they involve a lot of travelling. It’s been years since I last touched an MMO, but I sometimes still crave the experience of the world, and that’s why I want to rewatch Spice and Wolf.

GDTL Ookami to Koushinryou 2

All of that said, the elephant is still in the room: There is no Season 3. I guess I could read the novels, but I’m not 100% sure I want to do that. I know I’d probably be more satisfied that way than if I were to just rewatch the anime, but it’d still probably feel like I was “settling for something less”. And especially now that we live in an era where almost anything could get a surprise sequel (FLCL, for instance, unless that’s a special case), I think I’m returning to that state of mind where I want to wait for the possible sequel before I watch the show. I know, I know, it’s stupid, because I’ve already seen the show and there has been no indication that it might get a sequel, but I can’t help myself. Maybe I should just take the plunge and rewatch it as soon as possible. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

