Summer 2016 Spotlight: OP and ED of the Season

There may be something wrong with me. By the 8th week of a season, I usually have a lot of opinions about every OP and ED from shows that I’m still watching, but this season there’s nothing. In the past, I have said that particular seasons have been particularly uninteresting when it comes to their collections of theme songs, but even then I did have lots of opinions. This time, however, I feel very little. Because it seems unlikely that this season would be so extremely unremarkable compared to other seasons, I’m inclined to believe that the problem is in my head. To be honest, I’ve felt kind of burned out on anime lately, so it’s probably related to that.

But enough with the tangential exposition, it’s time to talk about the actual topic. Yes, there are a few shows this season whose OPs I like and which have actually kind of managed to stick in my mind. I particularly like the OP of Berserk, but Hitori no Shita and 91 Days also have good OPs. Unfortunately, however, I have already dropped each of those three shows, so I will probably soon dissociate the songs from the shows, and that’s why I can’t really pick any of them for this award. In fact, the selection as a whole is so poor that I have to do something unprecedented.

OP of the Season: No award

There are a number of OPs that I think are good, but none of them have stuck with me strongly enough. Sure, I could say that everything is relative and just pick my favourite one, but I feel like I should have standards at least on some level. And currently, none of this season’s OPs live up to those standards.

Summer 2016 Spotlight Amanchu

 

Among the OPs I like the most are Amanchu, Mob Psycho 100, Love Live Sunshine and Arslan Senki. In the case of Amanchu, my love for the show proper overshadows the OP, and the ED for that matter, so much that I don’t feel like I can say it’s my favourite. As for Love Live and Arslan, I like their OPs mainly because they remind me of songs from earlier iterations of their respective series. And while that’s not necessarily a thing that should disqualify them, it does discourage me from picking either of them. Finally, Mob Psycho 100 has an original OP that I like both when it comes to the visuals and the sound, but I just kind of keep forgetting that it, the show and OP as a whole, even exists. And on that topic, I’m pretty sure there are other shows whose OPs I don’t dislike, but I can’t for the life of me remember which ones they are, at least not off the top of my head.

 


Regarding the EDs, the problem (yes, the same problem) is even worse. Even an average season causes me difficulties when it comes to picking a favourite ED, so this time it’s basically hopeless. To be honest, I can’t remember a single ED from this season off the top of my head (except for Shokugeki no Souma, but that’s because I just heard it). So, the outcome for this category will probably not come as a surprise either.

ED of the Season: No award

Here, however, I can’t comment on anything, because I honestly don’t remember. I do sincerely hope this is just because I’m burned out, not because this season is exceptionally bad. Fingers crossed.

Summer 2016 Spotlight Saiki Kusuo

Correction: The Saiki Kusuo no Psi-nan ED is also decent.

One thought on “Summer 2016 Spotlight: OP and ED of the Season

  1. Like you, I’m feeling a little let down by the OPs and EDs this season. In some seasons, I like up to a dozen of the songs, but not this one. On the other hand, there are a handful I liked: OPs from D.Gray-Man and Sweetness and Lighting; EDs from D.Gray-Man, Momokuri, and Re:Write. So it’s not a total loss!

Leave a Reply

