Going Down The List: Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shuraba Sugiru

(MAL LINK)

Also known by the abbreviation OreShura. To the uninitiated, and probably to many others, the title of this show may seem similar to the title of OreImo, but let me assure you that the shows are not really similar. Sure, they’re both harem LN adaptations, but they differ in many ways. For instance, OreShura lacks the themes around otaku culture that I think OreImo did well, opting instead to go for straight references (mostly to Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure). And where OreImo suffered from having basically only one expected outcome (incest), OreShura was quite ambiguous about “who would win”, right up until the very last episode.

GDTL OreShura 1

I think one of the things that made me really enjoy OreShura was that it was one of the first shows I watched while it was airing, and it did a great job of making almost every episode feel enjoyable in their own right, instead of just being a small part of a larger continuity. And that, i.e. shows that provide a decent slice of entertainment on a weekly basis, is still something that I really enjoy. Since Winter 2013 I’ve somewhat drifted away from harem shows, but I still enjoy slice of life comedies, possibly even with romcom elements.

GDTL OreShura 2

But my favourite thing about the show was not actually anything in the show itself, it was what I did in reaction to watching the show. I wrote. A lot, actually. I wrote posts on every episode starting with episode 6 (originally posted on reddit, copy-pasted here). This was essentially the beginning of me writing longer posts about anime, an experience that eventually led me through various subreddits and onto twitter, from where I got the idea to start a blog. So my OreShura notes/writeups are kind of my Book of Genesis, my Enûma Eliš. Or at least I like to think of it that way. In any case, this is part of the reason why I consider OreShura my favourite “standard” harem romcom (by “non-standard” harem shows I mean stuff like Monogatari).

One thought on “Going Down The List: Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shuraba Sugiru

Leave a Reply

