Going Down The List: Ping Pong The Animation

(MAL LINK)

Fun fact: I’ve tried writing about this show several times before, and nothing’s ever come of it. Let me assure you, however, that that’s not because I can’t think of anything to talk about regarding the show. Quite the opposite, in fact. my previous essays failed because I didn’t know where to start, and I always felt like I couldn’t say enough. And I still have that problem. I don’t know if this post will be up to my standards, but I will at least try.

GDTL Ping Pong 1

The reason I wanted to write about Ping Pong so many times was because it was by far my favourite anime of 2014, and I felt like it was one of those shows that would become an instant classic. Did that happen? Well, on one hand it’s maybe too early to say, and on the other hand I haven’t heard a lot of people talking about it now, over 2 years since it finished airing. That said, my love for the show has only grown with time. It still stands out to me as one of only a few shows I’ve really enjoyed lately, some of the other ones being Shirobako and Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu.

GDTL Ping Pong 2

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the original reason I paid attention to Ping Pong was its art and animation style. And at first, that was why I fell in love with the show. The character animation was wonky and the lines were wobbly, but it looked fantastic in motion. But, that’s not the only reason why I thought the show was the best of 2014. The other reason was that it ended up being a really good sports show. It had a relatively small cast, which meant a lot of time for each character to develop, even though the show was only 11 episodes long. I think it’s worth watching for any particular element alone, be it the visuals or the story (or even the music), but combined, those elements make the show something that no one should miss. It’s a very special experience.

Leave a Reply

