Fall 2016 Preview Mega Post

After a two-year-long break, I’ll be going back to university this semester, and so I am afraid that I may not have much time for blogging anymore. I haven’t yet decided whether I’ll be going on a hiatus or not, but I want to inform you that the possibility exists now that I’m no longer a NEET. However, because doing this is so much fun, I’m probably going to spend a lot of time blogging about the Fall season anyway.

 


SATURDAY

Time Bokan 24

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33026

  • Premiere: October 1
  • Studio: Tatsunoko Production
  • Director: Takayuki Inagaki (Hatsukoi Monster, Kuusen Madoushi Kouhoisei no Kyoukan)
  • Series Composition: Youichi Katou (Aikatsu, Mushibugyou)

My familiarity with the Time Bokan franchise does not extend beyond 2015’s Yoru no Yatterman (which didn’t really leave the most memorable final impression), but as far as I know that show wasn’t very representative of the atmosphere of the older series, so I actually don’t know what to expect from this show. The synopsis on MAL is not really useful either.

Based on the staff, though, I’m wary. Even though I like Aikatsu, I wouldn’t say it’s a well-composed show, and the director’s selected works are, well, abysmal. The only positive thing about the production, in my opinion, is the fact that Tatsunoko are doing the animation. I have faith that the show will at least look decent, and in a best case scenario it might even look great. Let’s hope for that.

Bloodivores

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33985

  • Premiere: October 1
  • Studio: Creators in Pack

I can’t find much information about the production side of this show, but at least it does have a synopsis: It’s a show about vampires in a semi-post-apocalyptic world. Not something I’ve never seen before, Owari no Seraph immediately comes to mind, but it’s also not something that I inherently dislike (Owari no Seraph was good). If anything, I like vampires in post-apocalyptic settings more than vampires in contemporary settings.

As far as I can tell, this is the first standard-length show by studio Creators in Pack, so I’m a little skeptical when it comes to my faith in their abilities, but then again, every studio needs to start somewhere, and it’s not like they’re completely inexperienced, so I’m going to choose to be optimistic about it.

Shuumatsu no Izetta

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33433

  • Premiere: October 1
  • Studio: Ajia-Do

Though the countries in this world have “fictionalised” names, there’s no doubt that this show is set in Central Europe during World War 2. Which, in itself, is interesting to me, but what I’m really excited about is that the main character is apparently a witch who rides a gun (I think) instead of a broom. To be frank, that sounds awesome (and reminiscent of Maria the Virgin Witch, which I liked a lot).

Unfortunately, I can’t find any translated information on the director, series composer and scriptwriters, but what I do know is that the animation studio is Ajia-do, whose work on Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou I absolutely adored. The PVs also looked really good, so my hopes for this show are high.

3-gatsu no Lion

https://myanimelist.net/anime/31646

  • Premiere: October 8
  • Studio: Shaft
  • Director: Akiyuki Shinbou (Hidamari Sketch, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei)

Original work by Chika Umino, animated by Shaft, directed by Akiyuki Shinbou. This has all the ingredients to become a favourite of mine, whether through its visuals or through its story, or both. There’s no PV as of yet so I can’t really get an impression of exactly what it will look like, but I have faith in Shinbou and Shaft, and Umino’s character designs for that matter.

I’m still not sure what the story is going to be about, aside from the main character being a shogi player, but again, Umino’s involvement reassures me that it will at the very least be a decent story. As for my hopes and expectations, I really do want this show to be good and successful, because I’ve heard so many good things about the manga.

Sengoku Choujuu Giga

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33803

  • Premiere: October 8
  • Studio: ILCA

There’s not a lot of information about this show either, but because it’s a show by ILCA, that doesn’t surprise me very much. It’ll most likely have short episodes and feature an unconventional style of animation. Which is more than fine by me, because I’ve liked all of the ILCA shows I’ve seen so far. Apparently, the premise of the show is that it aims to tell stories from the Sengoku period using animals, in the style of the Choujuu-jinbutsu-giga. That should be interesting.

 


SUNDAY

Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans 2nd Season

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33051

  • Premiere: October 2
  • Studio: Sunrise
  • Director: Tatsuyuki Nagai (AnoHana, Toradora)
  • Series Composition: Mari Okada (AnoHana, Toradora)

Yes, I know, when the first season of Iron-blooded Orphans ended, I told myself (and everyone on twitter) that I wouldn’t watch the sequel. The reason for this was that my opinion of the show cooled quite significantly during the final story arc, and I felt like the animation and art suffered as well. Most of all, though, I felt like the ending of the first season was a good place to end the story, that any continuation would inevitably just not work.

But, just like how my hand automatically reaches for the jar of biscuits (rest in peace), I just can’t deny myself this opportunity to see how they’re going to continue the story. I did the same with Aldnoah.Zero (which I dropped after the first episode of the 2nd season), and I’m going to do the same thing now. I don’t really have any expectations or hopes, I don’t want to have either, but I’m going to watch the first episode of this no matter what.

Idol Memories

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33572

  • Premiere: October 2
  • Studio: Seven Arcs
  • Director: Katsuya Kikuchi
  • Series Composition: Hiroshi Oonogi (Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Sousei no Aquarion)

Experienced series composer, apparently completely new director. Sometimes this works, sometimes it doesn’t, but at the very least it makes this show kind of unpredictable to me. Based on the PV, it’ll be at least somewhat competent visually, and I like its style, so that’s good.

Story-wise, the PV kind of confused me. It seems like it’s going to be a relatively serious and dark show about idols, but I’m not actually sure if that’s what they’re going for. Personally, I hope so, but I’d be fine with a more light-hearted show too. After last season’s barrage of mediocre boy idol shows, it’s hard to imagine anything much worse.

Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33023

  • Premiere: October 2
  • Studio: Doga Kobo
  • Director: Takashi Naoya (Watashitachi, Luck Logic-bu)
  • Series Composition: Pierre Sugiura (Barakamon)

The fact that last season’s pretty boy shows largely disappointed me doesn’t mean that I’m pessimistic about the future. No, I have been waiting for this show for quite a while now. Not only are the boys really cute (or at least based on fan art), they’re also swords. So I guess this is a “cute boys doing sword things”… or perhaps “cute swords doing boy things”. Either way, I’m interested.

Also, Doga Kobo will stand for the animation, so I have a feeling it’s going to be a very “visually fun” kind of show. That said, most of Doga Kobo’s shows that I’ve seen have had girl-dominated casts, so I’m not sure if this show will be good in the same way, but then again, why wouldn’t it?

 


MONDAY

Gakuen Handsome

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33392

  • Premiere: October 3
  • Studio: Team YokkyuFuman

The almost complete lack of information on this series, particularly the unfamiliar studio, do not bother me, because this is a show that will live or die depending on the how well its absurdity, comedy and parody work. I haven’t seen any of the other related shows, but I’ve heard good things, and I’ve seen that screenshot where one of the boys accidentally stabs himself with his own chin. At 3 minutes per episode, stuff like that should not have the opportunity to get boring. I look forward to it.

Shakunetsu no Takkyuu Musume

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33031

  • Premiere: October 3
  • Studio: Kinema Citrus
  • Director: Yasuhiro Irie (Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Kurau Phantom Memory)
  • Series Composition: Hideyuki Kurata (Grisaia no Kajitsu, Junketsu no Maria)

At first glance, I was expecting a show somewhat similar to Teekyuu except with ping pong, but then I saw the PV and I had my expectations flipped on their head. In the PV I saw a non-absurd non-parody/comedy, with simple but nice-looking art and purposeful animation. This might actually be a good sports show about actual sports.

And it looks like I won’t have to worry about the production, because this team has a decent amount of experience, including on some well-respected shows. I’m also a fan of some of Kinema Citrus’ past works (Yuyushiki in particular), so I have a lot of faith in this show. Also, ping pong is a fun sport.

 


TUESDAY

Nyanbo!

https://myanimelist.net/anime/32805

  • Premiere: September 27
  • Studio: Shirogumi

Short, 5-minute episodes, based on the character Danbo from the manga Yotsubato. I doubt this will be a very outstanding or impressive show, but I like Yotsuba and Danbo so I might as well try this. Not expecting much, but who cares, it’s short.

Soushin Shoujo Matoi

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33668

  • Premiere: October 4
  • Studio: White Fox
  • Director: Masayuki Sakoi (Strawberry Panic, Sora no Method)
  • Series Composition: Yousuke Kuroda (Boku no Hero Academia, Gundam Build Fighters)

So… I think this is a magical girl show? Or, rather, it looks like it’s going to be one, but the synopsis makes it sound more like an onmyouji (exorcist) show. I don’t know, maybe it’ll be both. In any case, it seems like there won’t be too many shows of either genre this season, so I’m looking forward to it.

The CMs looked nice, and the animation was, well, animated. I’m also intrigued by the fact that the director has directed both shoujo-ai and regular cute girl shows, and I’m expecting this show to be one or both of the two. As for the writing, the series composer has worked on a fair amount of stuff, so I’m expecting decent things. I think this is going to be one of the more interesting shows of the season.

Natsume Yuujinchou Go

https://myanimelist.net/anime/32983

  • Premiere: October 4
  • Studio: Shuka
  • Director: Takahiro Omori (Natsume Yuujinchou, Kuragehime)
  • Series Composition: Sadayuki Murai (Natsume Yuujinchou S3-S4, Sidonia no Kishi)

Now here’s a show I’m actually really looking forward to. My hopes are not quite as high as they’d be if the 5th season of this show was animated by Brain’s Base, i.e. the same studio who were responsible for the first 4 seasons, but I’m not honestly expecting the change to be that significant. After all, Natsume Yuujinchou is a show that relies more on characters and writing than pure visuals, and I’m pretty sure that Season 5 is written and directed by the same team who did Seasons 1-4.

Herein, however, lies a caveat: While I absolutely loved the first and second seasons, and the standalone OVA episodes, of Natsume Yuujinchou, some of the story arcs during Seasons 3 and 4 felt a bit boring and not as impactful. There were no really terrible arcs, but overall I didn’t enjoy the last two seasons as much as the first two. And I’m kind of afraid that Season 5 will continue that downward trend. I’m not overly worried, though. I’m sure it’ll be a comfortable watch at the very least.

 


WEDNESDAY

Teekyuu 8

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33811

  • Premiere: October 5
  • Studio: Millepensee
  • Director, Series Composition: Shin Itagaki (presumably)

When Teekyuu’s continuous production was stopped and replaced with Usakame, and when it was announced that Itagaki would be taking on the task of directing the new Berserk anime, I was worried that it might be the end of the Teekyuu anime altogether. But I was wrong, and rarely have I been so happy about being proved wrong. Teekyuu is a really fun short show, and I’m flat-out excited about the fact that it’s returning. Usakame was alright, but it was not nearly as fun as Teekyuu, so I honestly can’t wait to get to watch the first episode of Teekyuu 8.

Mahou Shoujo Nante Mou Ii  Desu kara. Second Season

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33795

  • Premiere: October 5
  • Studio: Pine Jam

I’m not sure why exactly this is getting a second season, considering it was a short show that most people seemed pretty uninterested in. It also wasn’t really kid-friendly, so I’m not really sure why it exists in the first place. Anyway, maybe it’s better to just not think about it too much. It’s not like I disliked the first season, it made for some cute gifs after all, so I’m not really opposed to it getting a sequel. And I’ll probably watch all of Season 2 (unless it gets too creepy, the risk of which exists) even if it turns out to not be very engaging, because the episodes are really short, so I might as well.

Hibike! Euphonium 2

https://myanimelist.net/anime/31988

  • Premiere: October 5
  • Studio: Kyoto Animation
  • Director: Tatsuya Ishihara (Hibike Euphonium, Nichijou)

This one I’m really excited about, but not because I felt like the first season ended inconclusively. Sure, it ended pretty quickly and with a clear hint at a continuation, but the first season managed to satisfy me on its own. To summarise, it was just my kind of show, and the fact that it was animated by KyoAni made it that much better. I have great expectations for the second season, and I’m happy that it’s finally happening.

However, if I recall correctly, the staff working on the second season won’t be exactly the same as the people who made Season 1, or at least some people will be less involved in Season 2, director Naoko Yamada for instance. I’m hoping that this doesn’t affect my enjoyment too much, and it shouldn’t (it’s been a long time since Chuunibyou S2 happened), but I can’t help being a little worried. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

Bungou Stray Dogs 2nd Season

https://myanimelist.net/anime/32867

  • Premiere: October 5
  • Studio: Bones
  • Director: Takuya Igarashi (Star Driver, Soul Eater)

I thought the first season of Bungou Stray Dogs was alright. Not the most gripping of stories, but the characters were generally good and fun to watch, and there were some decent serious moments mixed in with the funny stuff (which worked well due to the art being very expressive). Admittedly I don’t remember most of the details of the show’s storylines, but I had a good time watching it.

That said, the reasoning behind the decision to make a second season is not immediately apparent to me. Maybe it’s just a situation where they want to adapt more of the manga, but I didn’t really see the need for more of the anime. The only specific reason I can think of, off the top of my head, is that the story gets less episodic and more serious at the split point between Seasons 1 and 2, and that Season 2 will have a more definitive and conclusive ending. I say this because that’s kind of what happened with Noragami, and I happened to really like the second season of Noragami. So, I guess I’ll watch the second season of Bungou Stray Dogs as well. Or at least one episode of it.

Yuri!! on Ice

https://myanimelist.net/anime/32995

  • Premiere: October 5
  • Studio: MAPPA
  • Director, Series Composition: Sayo Yamamoto (Michiko to Hatchin, Mine Fujiko to Iu Onna)

I have a confession to make: I’ve never seen any of Sayo Yamamoto’s stuff, even though I’ve heard a ton of good things. But, this seems like a good show to start with, so I’m really happy that it’s actually a thing that’s happening. And, based on the PV, it looks like it’s going to be a real looker. I have faith in MAPPA.

As disappointed as I am that it’s “Yuuri on Ice” and not “Yuri on Ice” (in retrospect, only a little disappointed), the character interactions as introduced in the PV seemed really intense in a way that I haven’t seen in a sports show since 2014’s Ping Pong the Animation. I hope that impression lasts.

 


Thursday

Flip Flappers

https://myanimelist.net/anime/32979

  • Premiere: October 6
  • Studio: 3Hz
  • Director: Kiyotaka Oshiyama

Even though this is Oshiyama’s debut as a full-on director, he does seem to have experience with Animation Direction on shows like Dennou Coil and the Fullmetal Alchemist movies. And though I cannot be 100% sure of it, I feel like this indicates that Flip Flappers is going to be a show that focuses heavily on its visuals. So much so that I’m expecting this to be my favourite show of the season when it comes to visuals, an expectation that was only reinforced when I watched the PVs.

That’s about as much as I know about Flip Flappers, though. I’ve read the synopsis on MAL a few times, but I still don’t really get what it’s supposed to be about. Oh well, maybe that’s not so important, especially if the visuals end up carrying most of the show.

All Out!!

https://myanimelist.net/anime/31588

  • Premiere: October 6
  • Studio: Madhouse x TMS Entertainment
  • Director: Kenichi Shimizu (Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu)
  • Series Composition: Masahiro Yokotani (Free, Mikagura Gakuen Kumikyoku)

Now that I think about it, I feel like there are more sports shows than usual this season, especially if I count the ones that I’m not picking up (Keijo). Some of them, like Takkyuu Musume, are about more popular sports (by anime standards at least), but All Out is about rugby, and that’s pretty fresh. I’ve never seen an anime, or even a live-action show for that matter, about rugby, so I’m very excited for this.

Animation-wise, and mainly because of Madhouse’s involvement,I’m fairly confident that the show will look great in terms of its action, and the staff aren’t looking too shabby either. In a season where All Out competes in the same genre as Yuuri on Ice, I don’t think it’ll be my favourite sports show, but I’m expecting and hoping for good things.

Girlish Number

https://myanimelist.net/anime/32607

  • Premiere: October 6
  • Studio: Diomedea
  • Director: Shouta Ibata
  • Series Composition: Wataru Watari (OreGairu, Qualidea Code)

Ah, yet another show created so that Watari can postpone writing a conclusion to OreGairu! I’m kidding, and in any case I don’t particularly care about seeing a conclusion to OreGairu, so I’m happy to see another show written by Watari (last season’s Qualidea Code was surprisingly good). The art and animation should also be at least decent, or at least I personally like Diomedea’s work.

Indeed, it should look better than the last show about seiyuus that I watched, Sore ga Seiyuu (animated by Gonzo). But that doesn’t actually matter that much to me, because to me the story is the most important part of these kinds of shows. The details about what exactly the show will focus on have not become clear to me, but I hope it’ll be similar to Sore ga Seiyuu.

Fune wo Amu

https://myanimelist.net/anime/32948

  • Premiere: October 13
  • Studio: Zexcs
  • Director: Toshimasa Kuroyanagi (Sukitte Ii na yo, Shounen Hollywood)
  • Series Composition: Takuya Sato (Sukitte Ii na yo, Fate/stay night)

This seems like it’s going to be the “off-beat” show of the season. Not because it’s absurd or extremely colourful or otherwise visually striking, but instead because of how relatively mundane it is. It’s about a guy who works for a publisher making a dictionary, which at first glance might sound really boring, but the more I think about it the more excited I am. Just like with shows about seiyuus, I hope this ends up being an authentic-feeling show about what it’s like to work for a publisher and write books for a living.

Production-wise, the show seems kind of modest. Zexcs are maybe not the most respected studio in the history of anime, but I have nothing specifically against them when it comes to their animation. Similarly, browsing the previous works of the staff members didn’t fire me up incredibly, but I don’t have anything against any of them. I hope they do a good job with this show.

 


Friday

Lostorage incited WIXOSS

https://myanimelist.net/anime/33197

  • Premiere: October 7
  • Studio: J.C.Staff
  • Director: Katsushi Sakurabi (Flying Witch, Kamisama no Memochou)
  • Series Composition: Michihiro Tsuchiya (PriPara, Cross Game (script) )

Old franchise (ok, only a few years old), same studio as the previous installments, but a new director and a new series composer. I must admit that I’m kind of sad Mari Okada didn’t return to write this show after doing the first two installments, but the new staff look to be not too shabby themselves (Flying Witch and Cross Game are both very high on my list of favourite anime).

And it seems that they decided to switch out the cast, too. Which is probably for the better, because I really have no idea how they’d be able to salvage what was left of the original cast after Selector Spread WIXOSS. Based on the PV, it also seems like this show may try to go for even more despair than the first series, and perhaps for less cute girls cutely playing card games (which was a decent portion of the first series). And I think that sounds interesting. Most importantly, though, it needs to be not boring. As many issues as I had with the first WIXOSS, it was at least almost never boring.

2 thoughts on “Fall 2016 Preview Mega Post

  1. Thanks for sharing some great information about these shows – I’ve kind of only read the titles of what’s coming out so it was good to put some detail with some of them.
    I’m really looking forward to season 5 of Natsume, however I found season 4 was my favourite so far. I liked the shifting focus from the yokai and their problems to Natsume’s past and how he has grown at dealing with humans and yokai.

Leave a Reply

