Fall 2016 First Impressions: Part 0

Nyanbo!

Fall 2016 First Impression Nyanbo

I burst out laughing at this scene.

Well, that was actually not at all what I expected it to be! I expected a short with limited or flash animation, possibly in an eccentric style, with lots of talking and not a lot of action. What I got, however, was a hybrid live-action/CG show, and it looks really good to boot. It might just be because this kind of CG works better on photo backgrounds than on CG or 2D backgrounds, but I thought everything from the shading to the animation was very impressive. What a delightful surprise!

And the story isn’t too shabby either. It’s about invisible cardboard robot cats from space, which is certainly not a concept you see every day. I imagine the part about them being invisible to humans is due to it being too difficult to have tiny CG characters interact with humans, but that’s just speculation on my part. After all, while they did not interact with humans, the Nyanbo did interact with a real cat in what was the scene that ultimately sold me on the show. The look of utter confusion on the (real) cat’s face was hilarious, and I hope they keep doing stuff like that in future episodes.

Verdict: Looks great and it’s occasionally funny. Also, the episodes are only a few minutes long, so why not pick it up?

Leave a Reply

