Fall 2016 First Impressions: Part 5

Teekyuu 8

Fall 2016 First Impressions Teekyuu

Honestly this isn’t even close to being the weirdest thing said in Teekyuu.

Teekyuu is back! And it’s like it never left! Why am I shouting!? Because it’s the Teekyuu way! After 2 seasons of no Teekyuu I honestly don’t really care whether Teekyuu 8 ends up being a below average Teekyuu season (not that there is any indication of that yet), because I’m just happy it’s airing again. It’s the same old Teekyuu, it’s weird, it’s occasionally lewd, it’s fast and it’s loud. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Verdict: Teekyuu is Teekyuu.

 


Mahou Shoujo Nante Mou Ii Desukara. 2nd Season

Fall 2016 First Impressions Mahoii

No, this makes no sense to me either.

Well, it still has that thing with the little girls in bathing suits almost all of the time, so unfortunately I can’t talk about it as openly as I’d like to, but in my opinion this show actually isn’t that bad! It has some great animation from time to time, I like the character designs and the colours, and it can be funny (the first episode of the 2nd Season in particular). And, surprisingly, I actually cared so much about the story in this episode that I was kind of sad when it ended after only 4 minutes. I actually want to see more of this.

Verdict: Strong start considering it’s a short with some questionable elements. Will continue.

 


Bungou Stray Dogs 2nd Season

Fall 2016 First Impressions Bungou

The episode was full of fantastic shots like this one.

As I’ve mentioned before, the first season of Bungou Stray Dogs only had me kind of hooked. I liked its setting and characters, but the story didn’t really hold my attention. Well, I’m happy to announce that the first episode of Season 2 had me do a complete 180, because it was the most interesting story I’ve seen in a while. This was probably due to the fact that it was a completely story-focused episode about Dazai’s backstory instead of the episodic half-comedy that the first season was, but good is good, and it seems as if the flashback isn’t over yet. Bring it on, I say, because this is some damn good anime.

And, of course, it looked the part as well. It’s definitely one of the better-looking shows of the season, at least so far, and I actually think it looks slightly better than the first season. In particular, I feel like the character designs are less rough and angular, and the uneven line art looks more refined. The soundtrack in the first episode was also very nice, and naturally the voice acting was top-notch. Yeah, this is probably my favourite premiere of the season so far.

Verdict: Fantastic first episode, stronger storytelling than in the first season. Definitely watching this one.

Leave a Reply

