Fall 2016 First Impressions: Part 7

Flip Flappers

Fall 2016 First Impressions Flip Flappers

Some of the backgrounds were just unbelievably beautiful.

Well, at least the groping in this wasn’t as gross as the scene in Soushin Shoujo Matoi, but it still put me off a bit. Aside from that, the vast majority of my impressions of the first episode of Flip Flappers were positive. I’m quite certain it’ll be the “artsy” show of the season, and in that respect it really did look great. Not just the really intricate and explosive animation, but I also really liked the character art and backgrounds. I’m also really in love with the fantasy elements and the monsters in the first episode in particular. Honestly, it was more like something out of a Ghibli film (reminiscent of Nausicaa, actually) rather than a TV anime, which I find impressive and not unwelcome.

My biggest fear regarding the rest of the series, having the seen the first episode, is that the show won’t succeed at actually letting me experience it the way it wants me to. For instance, the first episode made it obvious that I was supposed to marvel at the winter-y wonderland and its sweet-tasting snow, but I feel like I never actually got the opportunity to take it in. I guess what I mean is that the storytelling felt too urgent, maybe even rushed. I laud the show for being clear with its intentions regarding the main characters’ personalities, but I also felt that they came off maybe too strong in that regard. Like, the introduction of the characters felt imposing instead of natural. That said, it was still a really interesting first episode, and I’m excited to get to see more.

Verdict: Storytelling felt a bit too urgent and stiff, but it looked wonderful. I’ll continue it.

 


All Out!!

Fall 2016 First Impressions All Out

Presented without context.

After the glory that was the previous 4 shows I watched the first episode of, All Out noticeably did not have a spectacular premiere. As far as sports shows go, I don’t (yet) like it as much as Days, though it is certainly more fun than Battery. Not that it looks mediocre or anything like that, I actually really liked the character designs and the animation, but it just wasn’t that fantastic, at least not in my opinion. Also, the first episode was pretty standard in that it consisted of the main characters realising that the sport they’re about to play is fun, and that fun things are fun, which is not the most original of introductions.

All of my complaints about it not being fantastic aside, I’m actually very positive about this show as a whole, because I happen to like these kinds of sports shows. As a sports show, it’s one of the only standard ones so far this season, and like Days showed me last seasons, sometimes “standard” can just be really enjoyable. And so far that is the case with All Out as well. I’m really happy it’s already been confirmed to have 25 episodes.

Verdict: Standard as far as sports shows go, but there’s nothing wrong with that in my opinion. I’ll probably have a lot of fun with this.

Leave a Reply

