Fall 2016 First Impressions: Part 9

Sengoku Choujuu Giga

Fall 2016 First Impressions Sengoku Choujuu Giga

As you do.

The picture above, combined with the fact that this is an anime by ILCA, is probably all you need to know about this show. Yes, it does look like that all the time. Yes, it’s barely animated. No, it’s not the most engaging show in history. But, it does have a bird version of Oda Nobunaga, and he likes shooting people. That’s enough for me to enjoy this short anime.

Verdict: Watching, if only for bird Nobunaga.

 


Fune wo Amu

Fall 2016 First Impressions Fune wo Amu

Very Ghibli-esque character design here, in my opinion.

The premiere of Fune wo Amu was not quite as graceful as I expected it to be. Instead of being a solid, normal (by non-anime standards) drama with a unique and novel premise, it instead focused a little bit too much (in my opinion) on the main character’s “superpower”, which allows him to come up with a lot of different definitions for words on the spot. I mean, not that this skill/talent is necessarily a superpower, but I felt like it was portrayed too suddenly and without context. What I mean is that I would have liked to know where the main character’s skill/talent stems from. That said, I’ll probably be satisfied if they explain it later on.

Visually, the show exceeded my expectations. Both the character designs and the animation looked really really nice, and it sported some interesting visual flairs from time to time. The voice acting was really impressive as well. I think it says a lot when I say that I think the voice that sounded most out of place was Hiroshi Kamiya’s. After all, he’s a veteran, and I rarely think he sounds out of place.

Verdict: Decent premiere, the premise still carries the show for me. Continuing.

Leave a Reply

