Going Down The List: Sasami-san@Ganbaranai

(MAL LINK)

Sakurasou was the show that really got me into discussing and arguing about anime on Reddit, but when it came to analysis and interpretation of symbols, an activity I enjoy immensely (though I don’t think I’m very good at it), Sasami-san@Ganbaranai is where everything really began for me. It was basically my first introduction to Japanese mythology and traditions, as well as my first introduction to mecha and psychological shows (it’s a Shaft show, the fact that one of the characters is a cyborg half-goddess shouldn’t be too surprising).

GDTL Sasami-san 1

Sasami-san@Ganbaranai is also still one of the best-looking anime I’ve ever seen, and I consider it maybe the best-looking show Shaft have ever done (movies not included, for probably obvious reasons). I particularly remember the mecha stuff early on as well as the cherry tree in the final story arc. I’ve actually planned on rewatching the show so I can experience all of its beauty in glorious BD quality.

The one thing holding me back from that, however, is the story. At its best it can be really gripping, but at its worst it’s scattershot so badly that I still can’t piece together what actually happened during some of the earlier story arcs. It’s only one cour long so I’d still say it’s worth watching just for some of the more iconic (or memetic) scenes as well as for the visuals, but it’s not a perfect show. Fortunately, though, the ending of the final arc is somewhat easy to understand and it is pretty satisfying, so it shouldn’t leave a sour final impression.

Leave a Reply

