Going Down The List: Seitokai Yakuindomo

(MAL LINK)

When I first started watching Seitokai Yakuindomo, it became an instant favourite of mine, the main reason being that the humour of Seitokai Yakuindomo is constantly very dirty, and sex jokes are kind of few and far between in anime. It also had some explicit (though censored) swearing, which I don’t think I’ve heard in another anime since then. Well, in retrospect it might just be that I liked the show so much because of the shock value of its unexpectedly¬†explicit content.

GDTL Seitokai Yakuindomo 1

Or, rather, that’s the thought I had when it’d been a while since I’d seen the first season of SYD and the second season had just finished airing, because I always get this feeling when it comes to my first year of watching anime (which was more of a formative experience than an exercise in really trying to figure out what I like in general). That said, when 2016’s Oshiete! Galko-chan rolled around, I realised that no, in fact I just really like dirty humour.

GDTL Seitokai Yakuindomo 2

And I honestly don’t really know why that is. Do I like it because girls talking about sexuality is still sometimes considered taboo, or do I just like sex jokes in general no matter who is telling them? It’s also possible that these two shows happen to appeal to me in other ways, for which there is evidence: In Seitokai Yakuindomo, I like the “pure” (i.e. non-dirty joke-making) characters a lot as well, and in Galko-chan the characters Nikuko, Okako and Metako appeal to my non-fetishistic interests. Or maybe none of that matters, maybe all that matters is that I enjoy watching the shows.

Leave a Reply

