Going Down The List: Sekai Seifuku – Bouryaku no Zvezda

(MAL LINK)

The first time I tried to watch Sekai Seifuku, I made it all the way to episode 2 before I decided to drop it. Back then, making the decision purely based on the fact that the main character was a male high school student was an easy one, because other recent shows with the same premise had been either terribly disappointing or actively annoying (Mahou Sensou anyone?). I did, however, feel like the show was going in interesting directions, especially when it came to its strong focus on ideology.

GDTL Sekai Seifuku 1

When I picked the show back up some 18 months later, I realised that I could not have picked a worse episode to drop it on, because the very next episode, episode 3 (the smoking episode), ended up being really interesting. And later on there was the (in)famous hot springs episode, which I really loved. The finale few episodes were really enjoyable as well in a feel-good kind of way.

GDTL Sekai Seifuku 2

But what came of the ideological aspects of the show? To be frank, I don’t really remember, because in the end I watched the show while lying in bed, trying not to overanalyse. But I know that the show tried really hard to have themes, and I remember thinking that it pulled it off pretty well. In retrospect, Sekai Seifuku was maybe not the most memorable show I’ve ever watched, but it was definitely a positive experience.

Leave a Reply

